Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

2023 Nobel Prize in Physics announced

0 2

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics to Ferenc Krausz, Pierre Agostini and Anne L’Huillier “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.”

The 2023 Nobel Prize laureates in physics are being recognised for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.

The laureates’ contributions have enabled the investigation of processes that are so rapid they were previously impossible to follow.

There are potential applications in many different areas. In electronics, for example, it is important to understand and control how electrons behave in a material. Attosecond pulses can also be used to identify different molecules, such as in medical diagnostics.

Ferenc Krausz
Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany

Pierre Agostini
The Ohio State University, Columbus, USA

Anne L’Huillier
Lund University, Sweden


The post 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics announced appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.