Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

120 members to support NCM – Gammanpila

0 133

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Parliamentarian and former Minister Udaya Gammanpila pointed out that the Government has lost the simple majority in Parliament as there are 120 members, who are of the view that the incumbent Government should resign allowing Parliament to form an Interim Government.

He said, accordingly the No-Confidence Motion (NCM) to be brought in by the Samagi Jana Balawegaya can be tabled now and it will have the support of even more members if moved.

MP Gammanpila stated this during a press briefing held in Colombo yesterday.

According to him, the 120 MPs include the 65 MPs who are already in the Opposition, 39 MPs who became independent in parliament recently, 10 SLPP MPs who issued a statement seeking the resignation of the Government recently, three Muslim MPs who withdrew their support to the Government recently and Minister Nalaka Godahewa, MPs Dullas Alahapperum and Charitha Herath who asked the Government to resign issuing a statement recently.

The former Minister also gave an ultimatum of one week for the Prime Minister to resign. Gammanpila, who is also the leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) said that the SLPP launched a campaign last week to collect signatures from the MPs for a motion in support of the Prime Minister, however it has received only 46 signatures.


Tuesday, April 26, 2022 – 01:18

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.