Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

‘Born again group’ behind the sacking of Charith

0 74
Pandya’s hand tape controversy emerges
Indian skipper Hardik Pandya congratulating skipper Dasun Shanaka after the second T 20 match. The picture shows Pandya’ s hand tape.
Indian skipper Hardik Pandya congratulating skipper Dasun Shanaka after the second T 20 match. The picture shows Pandya’ s hand tape.

Indian skipper Hardik Pandya once again was highlighted by the cricket experts as he escaped conceding penalty runs as ICC did not notice him wearing unusual gloves or tapes on his hands during the recently concluded Sri Lanka – India T- 20 cricket match series in India.

Hardik had a tape on his bowling arm and other arm he used to wear tape or a plaster while fielding and this was very uncommon said former Sri Lanka opener Charith Senanayake who was later appointed as National team Manager.

According to cricket rules except Wicket keeper any other player cannot wear protective gloves.(MCC cricket laws 27.1 clearly noted this). Only wicket keeper can use gloves during fielding.

Going back to history in 2918 Matt Renshaw the former Australian cricketer wore this type of glove as a outfielder in the Sheffield Shield match between Queensland and Western Australia. He had to face fine as this was noticed by the umpires and they acted according to the rules and opponent team got five penalty points to the total.

If any player does this type of error umpires can give five runs to the opponent team.

Meanwhile Pakistan team conceded five runs penalty runs when skipper Baber Azam did same mistake. Azam was wearing a glove as a close in fielder in their second ODI against West Indies. At that time Baber Azam was fielding at square leg with a glove. If the fielder want to wear plaster or a especial tape he should get permission from the on field umpires and that’s the law in cricket said former National opener Charith Senanayake, who was recently sacked from the Sri Lanka A team Manager post because of his criticism of a ‘Born again group’ that has become an issue for national cricket.

If player has a injury on his bowling arm he can get permission to wear plaster or a tape from the umpires. But he cant wear plaster or tape on his other arm.

We saw Pandya take two catches at the first game with this tapes and he also bowled some times at the match and this has to taken seriously and subjected to a fine said former Ananda College captain and wicket keeper Deepal Dharmasekara who is come back home from London for a short holiday.

I had doubt about Pandyas incident hed in the West Indies game and why Pandya was not punished for this insident. Sri Lanka can get five runs which means Sri Lanka could have won the first game and the series.

Monday, January 9, 2023 – 01:00











Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.