Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Burdett Trophy and Puffin Cup Golf on July 22 at RCGC

0 4

Officials at the press briefing from left: Bandula Weerasinghe (RCGC Masters Team Captain) , Manori Attanayaka Jayakoddy (RCGC Puffin Team Captain), Dr. Rothitha Silva (RCGC Burdett Team Captain), Sudath Kumar (NEGC Burdett Team Captain), Ahalya Rajan (NEGC Puffin Team Captain), Nayana Dehigama (NEGC 125th Anniversary Team Captain).
Pix by Sulochana Gamage

The much anticipated Burdett Trophy and Puffin Cup Golf Tournaments are scheduled to be tee off on July 22 at Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) Colombo. This is the second oldest continues golfing competition in the world following the Ryder Cup contested between the United States and Europe. The event also brings together the RCGC and the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) for a highly anticipated day of competitive Golf said Manori Attanayaka Jayakody the RCGC Puffin team captain.

Actually last July 6 a momentous occasion unfolded at the RCGC as preparation for the upcoming tournament. This event was marked by the signing of a MOU between the participating clubs. In the presence of esteemed gusts and club officials, team captains representing their clubs gathered to solidify their commitment to the competition. The signing of the MOU ‘ s served as a symbolic gesture signifying mutual understanding and agreement between the clubs and outlining the terms and conditions for the participating in the forthcoming tournaments added Manori Attanayaka who herself a keen women’s golfer.

The 120th edition of this year Burdett Trophy for men’s and and 88th Puffin Cup for ladies will be contested simultaneously on the designated day while Burdett Trophy an esteemed competition with a century old legacy has been consistently held for last 119 years with only two interruptions due to the World Wars and wil consist in the format of four foursome team events and 8 single matches where an overall points tally of 6.5 points will be the decider of the winning game said Dr Rohitha de Silva the RCGC Burdett team captain. Dr Rohitha will lead the team for men’s tournament while Sudath Kumar will captain the NEGC team.

Meanwhile in the Puffin Cup for ladies team which originated in 1936, Ahalya Rajan and Manori Attanayaka Jayakody will lead the NEGC and RCGC teams respectively.

The Puffin Cup will feature four foursome matches and four single matches adding an exciting dimension to the competition.

Meanwhile concurrent to the aforementioned tournaments the masters golf tournament and 125th anniversary competition will tee off at RCGC course.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.