Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Colts celebrates 150th anniversary with hockey tourney

0 5

Triumphant Army Hockey Team celebrates victory alongside Colts Cricket Club Officials at Police Grounds, Bambalapitiya

The Colombo Colts Cricket Club, a proud institution with a rich historical legacy, marked itsmomentous 150th anniversary with a grand celebration. The club’s festivities reached a crescendo with the gripping All Island Invitational Nine-A-Side Hockey Tournament, held at the Police Grounds in Bambalapitiya on August 19 and 20.

Over the course of the weekend, a total of 38 teams converged to showcase their sportsmanship and prowess. Among them, 28 teams battled it out in the men’s division, divided further into the ‘A’ and ‘B’ Divisions. Simultaneously, nine determined women’s teams vied for supremacy. The ‘A’ Division of the men’s category witnessed intense competition, featuring esteemed teams such as Army, Old Senanayakians ‘A’, Gymkhana, Police, Old Nalandians ‘A’, Old Benedictine ‘A’, Wennappuwa, Matara, BRC ‘A’, Air Force, CH & FC ‘A’, and RCHC ‘A’.

Running parallel was the ‘B’ Division of the men’s tournament, featuring an equally impressive roster of teams including Colts, Colombo Malays, Old Asokians, Old Benedictine ‘B’, Old Senanayakians ‘B’, Old Anandians, Young Ladies, CH & FC ‘B’, RCHC ‘B’, KDU, Old Joes, Old Nalandians ‘B’, CR & FC, BRC ‘B’, and Old President’s. In the women’s division, a lineup of nine teams showcased their exceptional skills in a bid for glory. This lineup featured Army, Wennappuwa, CR & FC, Young Ladies, Navy, Air Force, Colts, KDU, and Old Balikans, adding an extra layer of excitement to the tournament.

The Men’s ‘A’ Division finals saw a riveting clash between Army and Police. Ultimately, the Army emerged victorious, securing a triumph with a 2-0 scoreline. In the Men’s ‘B’ Division finals, the Colts faced off against the Old Anandians in a thrilling encounter. The Colts sealed their triumph with a commanding 3-0 score. The Women’s finals proved to be a closely contested affair as the Army locked horns with the Navy. In the end, the Navy emerged triumphant, securing victory with a tight 4-3 score.

Individual excellence was recognized as Upeksha Prarthana of Army earned the title of the best player in the Women’s division. Nuwan Seneviratne of Colts was celebrated as the best player in the Men’s ‘B’ Division, while Isanka Jayasundara of Army stood out as the best player in the Men’s ‘A’ Division.

The post Colts celebrates 150th anniversary with hockey tourney appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.