Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Cream of Lankan divers eye International Selections

0 8

Sri Lanka’s most talented young divers are gearing up for the 47th National Age Group Diving Championship, hosted by the Sri Lanka Aquatics Sports Union (SLASU), scheduled to take place at the Sugathadasa Stadium Aquatic Complex from August 5 to 6. The two-day championship holds the promise of not just glory but also the chance to represent the nation at two prestigious international diving events.

The upcoming championship will play a pivotal role in selecting the country’s representatives for the Hong Kong Age Groups Diving Championships cum Hong Kong Age Groups Diving Invitational, scheduled to be held from August 30 to September 5. Additionally, it will also determine the competitors for the 11th Asian Age Group Championships, set to take place in the Philippines from December 3 to 14.

Divers from leading Colombo schools, including Royal College, S Thomas’ College, Thurstan College, St Joseph’s College, and DS Senanayake College, will vie for the coveted spots in the national team. Alongside them, top-class girls’ schools, such as Bishop’s College, St Bridget’s College, Visakha Vidyalaya, and Sirimavo Bandaranaike Vidyalaya, will be equally determined to secure their places.

With the stakes high, the competition is expected to be fierce as the best 12 school divers, comprising six boys and six girls, will earn the opportunity to represent Sri Lanka at the 11th Asian Age Group Championships in New Clark City, Philippines.

Similarly, another 12 divers, representing both schools and clubs, will be selected for the Hong Kong Age Group Diving Championships cum Hong Kong Age Groups Diving Invitational 2023, scheduled from December 3 to 14.

The Sugathadasa Pool will witness around 80-100 talented divers showcasing their skills, striving to outperform one another in hopes of earning a spot in the international events. Defending champions, Royal College, and Bishop’s College, will face stiff competition not only from the other eight schools but also from the leading clubs, Royal College Union and Sinhalese Sports Club teams.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.