Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Dimbula A and CC has a proud rugby history

0 64

To win the Clifford Cup for the first time they defeated the previous year’s cup holders, Ceylonese Rugby and Football Club by six points to nil. When the Clifford Cup was just four years old at club level.

The 1953 team was made of players like L. E. F Simpson Capt, J. M. E Waring, P. W. Ferris, D. F Parker, D. E.Ironside, W. A. Walker P. A. Clark, I.E. Campbell, B.I. Gunwardene, T. O. McKittrick, M. Wright, I.M. Mollision, B. Clarke, Stanley Unamboowe, Lala. Wadsworth, J. O. M. Stewart, S. J. M. Mo Cane. That season Played 12 games won nine, lost two and drew one

Dimbula A& CC was a major force in rugby. Then in 1956, Dim/Dicks (combinedDimbula-Dickoya team) were second to CR & FC in the Clifford Cup Tournament, then again in 1959 Dimbula ACC shared the Cup with CR and FC.

Another marvellous season came in 1970 under the leadership of Ken Murray, Dimbula A and CC emerged as the A Division league champions, and they were deprived of the rugby double when they lost to Abdul Majeed’s Policemen 0-8 in the Clifford Cup knockout Semi-finals. They had players of the calibre of Mike Parry, Mike de Alwis, Mike Waring, Roger Da Silva, Jayantha Jayawardena, Peter Amarasinghe, Ken Murray, Keith Paul, Jivaka Atapattu ,Asoka Herath, Brian Koelmeyer, Selva Kanagasabai, Cedric Munaweera ,Wilhelm Koch, Nihal Nilaweera, Larry Schokman, Sunil Jayakody, Brian Lieversz and Owen Mottau They beat the strong Policemen 23-8 at Police Park and Havelocks 5-0 at Havelock Park in the A Division League tournament helped by a brilliant try by winger Larry Schokman with Wilhelm Koch adding the extra points

Mike de Alwis, Keith Paul, Selva Kanagasabai, Owen Mottau and Sunil Jayakody went onto play for Sri Lanka with distinction

Dimbula ACC were not only a major force in rugby, but also produced some of the finest ruggerites in the country in recent years, Maithri Liyanage, Chandika Brodie, Senaka Alawattegama, Johny Daniels, Mohan Ganapathy, D. J. Ratwatte, Ana Wijaratne, Trevor Nugawela, Channa de Costa, Ravi Bandaranayake, and Ronnie Ibrahim. Few years back they played their anuual match against their rivals Dickoya MCC for a trophy in memory of the late. P. H. A. N. Dias the man who gave his best for this club. With the nationalisation of the tea estates in 1973, the club ceased playing ‘A’Division Rugby but continued playing in the Up Country League.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.