Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Fakhar Zaman’s 81 leads Pakistan to their third win

0 2

Opener Fakhar Zaman displayed an elegant performance, scoring 81 from 74 balls (3 fours and 7 sixes), as Pakistan recorded a comfortable 7-wicket win over Bangladesh with 105 balls to spare in their Cricket World Cup match held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, India yesterday.

In pursuit of a target of 205 runs, Pakistan’s openers Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique (68 in 69 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes) gave a strong start by forming a partnership of 128 runs in 21.1 overs. This partnership guided Pakistan to their third victory in this World Cup and elevated them to the fifth position of the points table with two matches remaining.

Bangladesh’s Spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz was the only successful bowler, taking all three wickets while conceding 60 runs in his 9-over spell.

Opener Fakhar Zaman was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Bangladesh encountered early struggles with their score at 23 for 3 wickets within just six overs. Litton Das and all-rounder Mahmudullah put up a commendable fight, establishing a fourth-wicket partnership that added 79 runs to the scoreboard. Mahmudullah scored 56 in 70 balls, including 6 fours and a six. Litton Das provided valuable support, scoring 45 in 64 balls with 6 fours. Skipper Shakib Al Hasan also chipped in with 43 in 64 balls (4 boundaries) but the other batsmen failed to make an impact.

Shaheen Afridi the opening paceman had an excellent spell, delivering 9 overs including one maiden over, conceding 23 runs and taking wickets. Mohammed Wasim, who came in as the fourth bowler, claimed 3 wickets for 31 in his 8.1 over spell, further undermining Bangladesh’s innings, resulting in a total of 204 with 4.5 overs to spare.

Today, a significant game is scheduled at Pune’s MCA Stadium, where South Africa, currently in second place, will face off against New Zealand the third-placed team. India leads the points table with six consecutive wins and 12 points. Australia occupies the fourth spot, with Sri Lanka moving to the sixth position, just behind Afghanistan.

Chief scores

Bangladesh: 203 in 45.1 overs (Litton Das 45, Mahmudullah 56, Shakib Al Hasan 43, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 25, Shaheen Afridi 3/23, Haris Rauf 2/36, Mohammed Wasim 3/31)

Pakistan: 205 for 3 wickets in 32.3 overs (Fakhar Zaman 81, Abdullah Shafique 68, Mohammed Rizwan 26, Ifthikar Ahamed 17*, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 3/60)

The post Fakhar Zaman’s 81 leads Pakistan to their third win appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.