Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Former President Victoria and three others battle for Netball top post

0 20

Former Sri Lanka Netball President Victoria Lakshmi handed over her nomination for the forthcoming Sri Lanka Netball Election which is scheduled to be held on May 30 at the Sports Ministry Auditorium.

The Senior Banking official who works at People’s Bank started her career as a Captain of the Sri Lanka Army. She was the previous President of the Netball Federation. She did not contest the last time when Ranjani Jayakody the former Sports Director General won the election uncontested. Victoria Lakshmi who is the most experienced official holds the post of Vice President of Asian Netball Federation Victoria was Vice President of the National Federation several times and this time she has an idea to get youngsters to build up a strong team for the Netball Administration. She has an idea to uplift this sport. Her short term aim is to retain the Asian Netball Crown at the Asian Netball Championship next September and then go beyond Asian level. However present President Ranjani Jayakody and Secretary Kumudini Gomes have not handed over their nominations for this election.

Victoria Lakshmi who was a former player and one time worked as Sri Lanka Army Captain has good administration abilities. She was a very keen sports lover to find sponsors for this sport in her early administration period. She was handing over nomination from the Nationalize Services Netball Association while three more President candidates Caryll Tozer from Western Province Netball Association, Padma Beddewela from Colombo district Netball Association and Vajira Pushpakumari from Gampaha District Netball Association will compete for the President post. The four officials will battle for the top post while former Presidents Trixi Nanayakkara and Ranjani Jayakody give their support to Caryll Tozer who is the main opponent of Victoria Lakshmi.

Meanwhile three nominations were received for the Secretary post. Vindana Dayaratne (Kegalle), Shiromi Kuruppu (Ratnapura), B.D.C Sumithra (Ratnapura) will battle for the post. Padmini Horanage (Colombo) K.J.S Jayasuriya (Mercantile) will battle for the Treasurer post while Champa Gunawardena (Kalutara) and Nitharshana Kulenthiran (Vavuniya) handed over nominations for the Assistant Secretary post. Vindana Dayaratne and Padmini Horanange handed their nominations from the Victoria fraction.

Layani Renuka of Nationalize Services Netball Association was elected uncontested as Assistant Treasurer as she was the only nominee.

Altogether 32 Associations have registered to cast the votes for the Netball Federation election.


Wednesday, May 18, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.