Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Govt. to develop new tourism zones

0 42

According to Ministry of Tourism, Secretary, Siripala Hettiarachchi, these tourism zones are to be set up in Nuwara Eliya, Ella, Arugam Bay, Passikudah, Kalpitiya and Hikkaduwa.

A comprehensive report relating the development of Ella Tourism Zone has already been completed and gazetted as a new tourism zone.

Furthermore, approximately 80 projects have been identified in Ella Zone alone, which will include water, electricity, roads, sewerage, city centre development, city beautification projects and etc,” he added. Each Zone will also have A Tourism Information Office,” he said.

Moreover, Arugam Bay Zone is to be developed as an ideal location for surfing. A comprehensive report relating to the development of this zone has already been completed and is to be gazetted shortly.

Ministry of Tourism also hopes to attract investors for these projects as they will have to have many infrastructures ready under this development program. These development projects are to be implemented jointly by the Ministries of Highways, Rural Roads and other Infrastructure Development, Wildlife and Local Government and many more.

Local tourism industry suffered a heavy blow due to COVID-19 pandemic and the government is taking all possible and necessary steps to revive it.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.