Be the First to Know

Great Britain wins first wheelchair rugby Gold

0 40

- Advertisement -

It was the first time a European nation had even made the Gold medal match with only Australia, US, Canada and New Zealand the only four nations before to do so.

For Great Britain, while they had made Bronze Medal matches at Atlanta 1996, Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008, they had never won a Gold Medal, finishing fourth on all four occasions.

The battle for gold was tight from the start with the lead flipping between both Great Britain and the US throughout the match.

It was in the final four minutes of the game that ultimately gave Great Britain their history-making medal as Stuart Robinson made three consecutive tries to give his side a three-point lead. (Agencies)

Source DailyNews
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.