Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Hulangamuwa heads Old Rajans Rugby Football Association

0 31

Old Rajans Rugby Football Association held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday for the year 2023 – 2024, and Sanjeewa Hulangamuwa who played 1st XV rugby in 1997 came in as the new president, He was the former Treasurer.

He is also a committee member of Dharmaraja College Old Boy’s Union. Tharindu Rathnayake came in as the secretary and Sajeewa Abeyratne as the treasurer and rest of the committee will be named soon.

This meeting was held on a grand scale at the OBA headquarters in the presence of the Secretary of the Old Boys’Union Prasad Amarasekara and Vice President and the Sports Coordinator of the Old Boys’ Union Upali Bandulasena.

Old Rajans Rugby and Football Association (ORRFA) is the body that governs and controls the rugby activities at Dharmaraja College and the committee is divided into three sub committees namely Technical, Management and Junior Rugby Dharmaraja College are doing well in rugby and this time beat Trinity College for the first time and has produced top ruggerites and teams.

It was in 1970 that Dharmaraja College first formed a rugger team but it was in 1974 they fielded the official team and it was captained by Upul Thalagoda and coached by Lanil Tennekoon, since then they have been on a good footing in rugby.

They have produced galaxy of national players It was Col. C.S. Fernando who first played for the Army, Defence Services and Sri Lanka followed by Shanthi U Mendis (University of Peradeniya, Air Force and Sri Lanka), Daya Jayasundara (Kandy SC, Police and Sri Lanka) and was a top class referee and coach, Muruga Jayaratne (Police). These four ruggerites never played for the school.

The finest year of Dharmaraja College rugby was 2013 when Rochana Hettiarachchi led the team to win the All-Island League tournament for the first time.

The team was made out of players like Pasan Bandara, Dulaksha Weerakoon, Charinda Kalinga, Gihan Jayasinghe, Dulantha Hiyarapitiya, Vihanga Nawalage, Hasmitha Karunatilleke, Amila Weerakoon, Thilina Sampath, Janaka Wijesinghe. Lochana Fernando, Ishanka Wimalasuriya, Hashan Pilapitiya. Rochana Hettiarachchi (Captain). Bhuvaneka Udangamuwa, Dilantha Madushanka, Lahiru Hettiarachchige, Pradeep Tharindu, Manushaka Kumara, Viraj Weerasekera and Thilina Wijesinghe.

The team was coached by Radhiika Hettiarachchi. They ended the season with seven wins and two draws against Trinity (35-all) and Royal (17-all).

In recent years they have produced players of the calibre of Ajantha Samarakoon, Indrajith Bandaranayake, Hemantha Yatawara, Radhika Hettiarachchi, Avantha Hettiarachchi, Nuwan Hettiarachchi, Sumedha Jayasinghe, Charaka Hewawasam, Upali Ekanayake, Saranath Hettiarachchi, Ravindra Wekadapola and Thilina Wijesinghe who donned the Sri Lanka jersey with distinction.

The post Hulangamuwa heads Old Rajans Rugby Football Association appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.