Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

India win by four wickets to clinch ODI series by 2-0

0 84
KL Rahul steered India home with an unbeaten half-century.
KL Rahul steered India home with an unbeaten half-century.

India recorded a four-wicket win over Sri Lanka with 40 balls to spare in the second one day match and clinched the series by 2-0 at the Eden Garden, Kolkata, yesterday.

The Indians led by Rohit Sharma sealed this victory with some effort after losing early wickets but their bowlers Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Siraj took three wickets each to set their victory while Sri Lanka were bowled out for 215 in 39.4 overs with 10.2 overs to spare.

The wicketkeeper K.L Rahul who played his fighting innings under pressure locked their win as he scored 64 in 103 balls with 6 fours. The Sri Lankan bowlers, especially, Lahiru Kumara who replaced Dilshan Madushanka who is injured, made an early breakthrough as India clawed their way to 216 but later on Hardik Pandya and Rahul played an anchor role to build up their total as the pair added 75 runs for the fifth wicket. Pandya scored 36 in 53 balls with 4 fours.

Earlier, in the 5th over, opener Rohit Sharma was out for 17 in 21 balls and the wicket was taken by Chamika Karunaratne with wicketkeeper Kusal Mendis taking the catch.

The previous game centurion Virat Kholi couldn’t stay long while he was clean bowled by paceman Lahiru Kumara with his superb length ball.

Lahiru Kumara and Chamika Karunaratne took two wickets each but conceded more runs while key leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga bowled a very economical ten-over spell and finished wicketless and gave away only 28 runs.

Kuldeep Yadav who took 3 wickets was adjudged the Man of the Match.

Sri Lanka had to play without opener Pathum Nissanka last minute due to his back injury and his replacement the young right hander Nuwanidu Fernando was the most impressive Sri Lanka batter and sixth player to complete a half century on ODI debut. But soon after his half century he was unfortunately run out and that was the turning point of the innings.

The openers two Fernando’ s Avishka and Nuwanidu added only 29 runs for the first wicket while Avishka was struck three consecutive fours off the bowling of Mohammed Siraj finally was out to same bowler being clean bowled at 6 the over of the game. Nuwanidu and vice captain Kusal Mendis added most successful 73 runs stand for the second wicket. The Indians introduced the spinners from both ends after 16th over Mendis was LBW to Kuldeep Yadev who replaced Yuzvendra Chahal for this game while experienced Dhananjaya de Silva was on a first ball duck off the bowling of Axar Patel and two quick wickets within 3 balls put big pressure for Sri Lanka at this stage.

At the 22 nd over young Nuwanidu Fernando was run out and thrown away his wicket and skipper the inform Dasun Shanaka was back in the pavilion scoring only 2 runs in 4 balls while Kuldeep got his prize wicket at the 23 Rd over.

Charith Asalanka scored 15 in 21 balls but he couldn’t stay long time and Kuldeep was accounted for his third wicket with a simple return catch. Wanindu Hasaranga started with a six and four but speedstar Umran Malik got his wicket with his 143.5 kmph ball when Axar Patel took a catch at backward point.

The 21 year old Dunith Wellalage and Chamika Karunaratne tried to repair the innings but Indian bowlers put a huge pressure at this stage. Wellalage who was out without scoring on the previous game made good fighting innings to get 32 in 34 balls with 3 fours and a six while Kasun Rajitha made an unbeaten 17 in 21 balls with 3 fours but this contributions were not enough to get a respectable total and Sri Lanka were all out in 39.4 overs.

The paceman Mohammed Siraj and leg spinner Kuldeep Yadev took 3 wickets each while Umran Malik took 2 for 48 and Axar Patel took 1 for 16 in just five overs to ristrict Sri Lanka innings.

The third and final ODI between the two teams will be played on next Sunday (15) at Thiruvananthapuram from 1.30 on onwards (Sri Lanka time).

Friday, January 13, 2023 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.