Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

India’s Mahindrakar and Sri Lanka’s Fernando crowned champs

0 2

In a thrilling display of strategic prowess, chess masters from India’s Indrajeet Mahindrakar and Sri Lanka’s Nethmi Fernando emerged as the champions in the Open Category Men and Women, respectively, at the 12th Kandy Open International Chess Festival. This prestigious event was organized by the 64 Squares International Chess Academy in collaboration with the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka and the Asian Chess Federation.

The tournament concluded on October 1, amidst intense competition at the National Institute of Co-operative Development (NICD) in Polgolla, Kandy.

Women’s Champions (from left to right): First Runner-Up, Jayandi Bimsara; Winner, Nethmi Fernando and Umandi Mudalige.

Indrajeet Mahindrakar from India demonstrated his supremacy in the Open Category Men by securing the title with an impressive score of 10/11 points. Throughout the tournament, Mahindrakar remained unbeaten, only conceding two draws in the ninth and tenth rounds. The competition followed an 11-round individual Swiss system format, with a time control of 90 minutes, plus a 30-second increment per move.

This edition of the championships saw participation from a formidable field of 765 participants.

Securing the first runner-up position in the same category was Sri Lanka’s Rashmitha Liyanage, who accumulated an admirable score of 9.5/11 points. Notably, the race for the second runner-up position was intensely competitive, with eight players amassing 9/11 points. Ultimately, Romesh Weerawardena clinched the spot, thanks to his superior tie-break score.

Meanwhile, in the Women’s Category, it was Sri Lanka’s Nethmi Fernando who emerged as the champion with a score of 8/11 points. The competition among the female participants was equally fierce, with four players vying for the championship, all with 8/11 points. However, Nethmi Fernando secured the title by virtue of her superior tie-break score, leaving Jayandi Bimsara and Umandi Mudalige in the first and second runner-up positions, respectively.

The post India’s Mahindrakar and Sri Lanka’s Fernando crowned champs appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.