Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Jaffna beat Colombo by 2 wickets for third successive IPL title

0 83
Jaffna team celebrate with the trophy (Pix courtesy: SLC)
Jaffna team celebrate with the trophy (Pix courtesy: SLC)

Jaffna Kings led by Thisara Perera recorded a 2-wicket win with 4 balls to spare over Colombo Stars in the final to win the third successive LPL title at the R. Premadasa yesterday.

It was a thrilling final while a crowd of over 20,000 got their money’s worth last night with the majority of them supporting for Colombo side led by Angelo Mathews. Colombo Stars did a few mistakes, especially when they used Seekkuge Prasanna who was unfit, and experienced fast bowler Suranga Lakmal was too late to put up a good fight against Jaffna but the Kings’ fighting spirit was present throughout the game.

Jaffna Kings chasing a target of 164 the openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Avishka Fernando made a solid start by adding 49 runs in just 4.1 overs. The Afghanistan opener started the chase with his usual attacking style striking 36 in 18 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixers while in-form Avishka Fernando played a solid supporting role to increase their total.

The 34-year-old Hampshire all-rounder Benny Howell was able to make the first breakthrough while Gurbaz was out in the 5th over and Kasun Rajitha took a straightforward catch at mid-off to dismiss Gurbaz.

Afif Hossain the number three batsman scoring only 3 runs couldn’t able to stay long while skipper Angelo Mathews took an excellent catch at extra cover off the bowling of Howell.

However, Avishka Fernando and wicket-keeper Sadeera Samarawickrama added a remarkable 71 runs for the third wicket to build up the innings which was the turning point.

Samarawickrama, the former Josephian skipper played a brisk knock of 44 in 27 balls and struck 6 fours and a six in his 40-ball innings while opener Avishka Fernando anchored the innings to score 50 in 43 balls with four fours and a six. Suranga Lakmal who came to bowl after the 15th over captured 3 for 23 in his 3-over spell.

Earlier, Colombo Stars were invited to bat first. Opener Nishan Madushanka fell after scoring only one run while wicketkeeper Sadeera Samarawickrama took a catch off the bowling of Thisara Perera. Dinesh Chandimal and Charith Asalanka added 76 runs to increase the total but 21-year-old Dunith Wellalage made a breakthrough to dismiss Asalanka who scored 31 in 23 balls and hit 3 fours and a six. Chandimal made a superb knock but was unfortunately run out with just one run away from his well-deserved half-century. Chandimal struck 4 fours and six in his 40-ball innings. Skipper Angelo Mathews (12) and experienced Ravi Bopara scored a brilliant unbeaten knock of 47 which guided them to reach 163 for 5 wickets.

Avishka Fernando the in-form batsman was named the Man of the Final, Sadeera Samarawickrama won the Player of the Series and Vijayakanth Viyaskanth won the Best Emerging Player of the Tournament award.

Shammi Silva President of SLC, Wasim Akram who was the Brand Ambassador were present at the awards ceremony.


Chief scores:

Colombo Stars: 163 for 5 wickets in 20 overs (Dinesh Chandimal 49, Charith Asalanka 31, Ravi Bopara, Angelo Mathews 12, Ravi Bopara 47 *, Mohammed Nabi 15, Thisara Perera 1/16, Binura Fernando 1/48, Maheesh Theekshana 1/34, Dunith Wellalage 1/18

Jaffna Kings: 164 for 8 wickets in 19.2 overs (Rahmanullah Gurbaz 36, Avishka Fernando 50, Sadeera Samarawickrama 44, Shoaib Malik 10, Kasun Rajitha 1/27, Mohammed Nabi 1/42, Benny Howell 2/17, Suranga Lakmal 3/15)


Saturday, December 24, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.