Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Kandy have firm edge over underdogs Army

0 16

Kandy Sports Club will be at full strength and raring to go when they take on the underdogs Army Sports Club in their SLR ‘A’ Division Inter-Club League Rugby first-round match at Havelock Park today, starting at 4:15 pm.

Led by fly-half Nigel Ratwatte, the Kandy team got some good players who could be match-winners for the hill capital outfit.

Players such as centre and playmaker Tharinda Ratwatte, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Buddima Piyaratne, Kavindu Perera, Roshan Weeraratne, Jason Dissanayake, should be marked well by the Army team, if not, they will be in deep trouble.

The Kandy team is the defending champions and one of the strongest teams at present in the SLR league championship this year, will be out for another bonus point win when they meet the Soldiers. The Kandy team should have things their way in this encounter.

The hill capital outfit are unbeaten in the ongoing league tournament so far and they beat the formidable Air Force (34-12), CH and FC (39-03), Navy SC (35-30), CR & FC (45-26) and Police (36-23) at Nittawela in a tense battle.

Playmaker Tharinda Ratwatte’s kicking boot will play a major role in this game as well.

Meanwhile, Army SC the dark horse of the league will be out for a shock win. They will be heavily dependent on their skipper Gayan Salinda, playmaker cum fly half Tharindu Madushan Hettiarachchi, the two hard-running players, centre Danushka Thalwatte and Winger Sudaraka Dikkumbura.

Army lost four games to Havelock SC (14-36), Air Force SC (05-12), CH and FC (23-33) and held CR & FC to a (16-16) draw and won against formidable Navy SC (18-13) in the ongoing inter-club league tourney.

Going by the two teams’ performances so far, this encounter should be a one-sided affair with Kandy holding a firm edge over the underdogs Army SC team in this league match.

Army SC (Probable XV): Kalum Madusanka, Chalika Sadaruwan, Buddhi Srimantha, Nalaka Maduranga, Thirusha Adikaram, Nalan Deshappriya, Chameera Silva, Vinod Kumar, Wasantha Kumarasinghe and Tharindu Madushan Hettiarachchi, Sudaraka Dikkumbura, Danushka Talwatte, Lasantha Kumara, Niroshan Jayakodi, Gayan Salinda (Captain), Head coach: Radhika Hettiarachchi, Assistant coach: Anuranga Walpola

Kandy SC (Probable XV): Charles Praveen, Damith Dissanayake, Lasitha Aththanagoda, Thilina Bandara, Chathura Zoysa, Tharindu Chathuranga, Bawantha Dharmapala, Jason Dissanayake, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Nigel Ratwatte (capt), Buddima Piyaratne, Tharinda Ratwatte, Lavanga Perera, Diluksha Dange, Roshan Weeraratne, Coach: Fazil Marija, Assistant Coach: Buddhika Thalagampola

Saturday, March 12, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

adana eskort bayan - eskort bayan adana - mersin eskort - eskort - eskort adanaadana eskort bayan - eskort bayan adana - mersin eskort - eskort - eskort adana