Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Krishan, Ayla clinch TT Titles

0 9

Krishan Wickramarathne of Vidyartha College Kandy OBA created a major upset when he defeated National champion Senura Silva of Ananda in the men’s open final to clinch the title at the Aarya Plus challenge trophy open Table Tennis championships concluded at Bandaragama Indoor Stadium on Sunday.

The men’s open final between Krishan and Senura was a keen tussle with a five setter game. Senura won the first set by 12/10 while Krishan fought back to win the second set scoring 11/6. Senura once again got the lead 2-1 to win third set 11/9. However Krishan came back strongly to win back to back two sets 11/6 and 11/2 to take the major title with a 3-2 win. Earlier Krishn defeated Milinda Lakshitha while Senura beat Nirmal Jayasinghe in the semi finals.

Meanwhile Ladies College promising paddler Ayla Chitty made a five setter game over Hansani Piumila of Navy to win the women’s open singles title. Earlier Ayla Chitty also had an upset victory over top Seed and Current National Champion Muthumali Priyadharshani in the quarter-finals and once again Ayla was able to beat third Seed Bimandee Bandara in the semi final to reach the final.The women’s double title was won by Ayla partnered by Bimandee Bandara .

However 16 year old Senura Silva was able to win both under 19 and under 17 titles and also he won the men’s doubles partnered by Chameera Ginige and was adjudged the best men’s player.

The winner took Aarya Plus challenge trophy with 10, 0000 rupees cash award while Bimandee Bandara of Hillwood Kandy was adjudged as the Best Womens player and received Aarya Plus Challenge Trophy and Cash award of Rs. 10,000.

The Chief Guest at the finals was Nirushi Theodore ,Brand Executive Aarya of the Raigam Marketing Services {Pvt} Ltd which was the main sponsor of this tournament conducted by Nugegoda Table Tennis Club in collaboration with Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka.

Results of the finals

Men’s singles Krishan Wickramarathna (VCK OBA) bt Senura Silva (Ananda) 10/12, 11/06,09/11,11/06,11/02

Women’s singles Ayla Chitty (Ladies) bt Hansani Piumila (SL Navy) 12/10, 11/07, 04/11,07/11, 11/09

Men’s doubles Senura Silva (Ananda) and Chameera Ginige(University of SriJ’Pura} bt Thisas Ranchagoda (Royal) and Nimesh Ranchagoda (SL NavY) 08/11, 11/03, 10/12, 11/06, 11/06

Women’s doubles Ayla Chitty (Ladies College) and Bimandee Bandara (Hillwood) bt Sanduni Prabuddika (Dharmasoka) and ManeeshaSalindi (Dharmasoka) 12/10, 11/05, 11/09

Mixed doubles Krishan Wickramarathna (VCK OBA) and Bimandee Bandara (Hillwood) bt Hansani Piumila{(SL Navy) and Nimesh Ranchagoda (SL Navy) 11/04, 08/11, 11/07, 05/11, 11/05

Boys under 19 Senura Silva (Ananda) bt Dhanushka Wijesinghe (Kingswood) 11/06, 11/06, 11/08

Girls under 19 Bimandee Bandara (Hillwood)btManeeshaSalindi (Dharmasoka) 11/04, 11/05, 12/14, 11/05

Boys under 17 Senura Silva (Ananda) bt Vinuka Gunawardane (Royal) 11/03, 11/03, 11/09

Girls under 17 Bimandee Bandara(Hillwood) bt ChameeshaThushadhi (Kegalu BV) 11/09, 09/11, 11/08, 12/10

Boys under 15 Hasira Dinusara (Dharmasoka) bt Saluka Premachandra (Ananda) 11/07, 15/13, 11/05

Girls under 15 ChameeshaThushadhi (Kegalu BV) bt Oneli Lehansa (Musaeus ) 11/07, 11/08, 11/06

Boys under 13 Hareen Nimdinu (Dharmasoka) bt Janith Batugedara (Royal) 11/09, 05/11, 11/04 , 13/11

Girls under 13 l Tamadi Kavindya (Devananda) bt Sandinthie Jayasinghe(Musaeus) 12/10, 10/12, 11/03, 11/09

Boys under 11 Agasthya Ananditha (Vidyartha) btOsadaUpekshana (Vidyartha) 11/05, 11/08 , 11/08

Girls under 11 Muthuli Sahanya (Southlands Galle) bt Senudi Patabendi (K / Girls High School) 11/09, 14/12, 11/07

Tuesday, January 11, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.