Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Lanka Cavaliers win Tyrone de Silva Challenge Trophy

0 12
Champion Lanka Cavaliers captain receiving the Tyrone de Silva Challenge Trophy

Lanka Cavaliers led by Nalliah Devarajan re-gained the “Tyrone de Silva” Challenge Trophy with a comprehensive 110 runs win over the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA) Masters, in the 18th Annual 25-Over Cricket Encounter, concluded on Saturday, 19th March at the MCA Grounds.

Lanka Cavaliers sent into bat, created history by going over the 200 run mark for the first time in the series, as their top order batsmen, Waruna Waragoda (35 rtd. In 51 balls with 01 boundary), Sanjaya Attanayake (84 in 64 balls, inclusive of 05 sixes and 05 fours) and Carman Mapatuna (42 not out in 23 balls, inclusive of 03 sixes and 01 four) easily collared the MCA Masters bowling attack, to finish with a daunting 216 for 2 in 25 overs.

Bad fielding and 35 runs given away as extras and the tall overs bowled by Roshan Iddamalgoda (20 runs in the 21 st Over) Sanjaya Wijesinghe (20 runs in the 23 rd overs) and Rohana Dissanayake (23 runs in the 25 th over) helped to swell the total.

The mountain was too high for the MCA Masters, as they caved in for a paltry 106 runs in 20.5 overs, having little to offer against the intelligent bowling attack of Renuka Nonis (5-33-3), Brijesh Jeganathen (4-1-18-2) and Manoj Perera (4-1-19-3).

All three special awards offered, went to Lanka Cavaliers – Waruna Waragoda (Best Batsman), Manoj Perera (Best Bowler) and Sanjaya Attanayake (Man of the Match).

The series tally now stands at 8- all, with the 2006 encounter ending in “Tie” and the 2014 encounter ending in a no-decision.

The awards were given away by the Chief Guest, Tyrone de Silva, (MCA President 2003/04), Nalin Wickramesinghe (President / MCA), CPP Raj (President /Lanka Cavaliers), MCA Centenary President, Mahesh Wijeyawardene and MCA immediate Past President Rohana Dissanayake.

Chief Scores:

Lanka Cavaliers – 216 for 02 in 25 overs (Waruna Waragoda 35 rtd. Sanjaya Attanayake 84, Carmen Mapatuna 42 not out)

MCA Masters – 106 all out in 20.5 overs (Tarindra Kaluperuma 23, Namal Seneviratne 20, Mahesh de Alwis 15, Renuka Nonis 3/33, Brijesh Jeganathen 2/18, Manoj Perera 3/19, Krishan Dharmasena 2/9)

Tuesday, March 22, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

adana eskort bayan - eskort bayan adana - mersin eskort - eskort - eskort adanaadana eskort bayan - eskort bayan adana - mersin eskort - eskort - eskort adana