Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

lanka ads

Lyceum, Wattala – Inter-International Schools Cricket Champions

0 16
The victorious Lyceum International School Wattala cricket team.

Lyceum International School Wattala (LISW) defeated Lyceum International School Nugegoda (LISN) by eight wickets in the grand finals of the Inter-International Schools Under-19 Cricket Encounter 2022 held on February 24 at the Lyceum Wattala grounds.

Wattala Lyceumers won the toss and invited opponents to bat first and Nugegoda Lyceumers were bundled out for 106 in 20 overs. Duvindu Silva who scored 35 runs from 31 balls and Karunyan Ponkovan contributed with 26 runs for Nugegoda team. Rayan Perera bowled brilliantly and obtained 4 wickets for 24 and Garuka Sanketh wrecked 2 wickets for 10 while Janithu Jayathilaka and Sethika Balasooriya bagged one wicket each for 13 and 14 runs respectively.

In reply Wattala Lyceumers marked their victory with a score of 110 for 2 wickets in 13.3 overs.

Theekshan Abeyrathna who piloted the team to victory by scoring 40 runs from 34 balls while Sanujan Baskaran scored 31 runs and Lakshitha Udesh contributed with 26 runs from 15 balls. Both schools from the Lyceum family advanced to the final after competing with other leading International Schools in the country during the tournament.

Jaron Fernando of LISW obtained the Best Fielder title in the tournament while Rayan Perera of LISW bagged Best Bowler title while he became Man of the Match in final encounter.

The Gateway College Colombo won by 30 runs against British School Colombo in their Consolation Match for the third place worked off at Lyceum Wattala Grounds on February 24.

Gateway Colombo decided to bat first when they won the toss and scored 160 for 6 wickets in 20 overs. Amanullah Ahamed was the highest run-getter scoring 82 from 63 balls and Kavindu Warnakulasooriya piled up 43 runs from 38 balls.

In reply British School innings was end at 130 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs while Aaryan Amalean wrecked 2 wickets for 30 and Janindu Nandasena bagged 3 wickets for 12 runs.

Janindu Nandasena of Gateway College Colombo became the Player of the Tournament and Amanulla Ahamed of Gateway College Colombo obtained the Man of the Match (Consolation Final) while Kavya Shuqla of British School Colombo carried away the Best Batsman title.

Saturday, March 5, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.