Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Mahendra Wilegoda elected President of Sri Lanka Insurance Institute

0 12

The Sri Lanka Insurance Institute (SLII) elected has Mahendra Wilegoda , Head of Life Operations at HNB Assurance PLC as its 20th President. The appointment was announced during the Annual General Meeting held on June 22, marking a significant milestone for the institute.

Wilegoda, an Old Boy of Central College of Piliyandala, is no stranger to the SLII and did serve as the Vice President up until his recent appointment. With over 26 years of experience in the Life Insurance Industry, he is a respected professional with extensive knowledge in Risk Management, Product Development and Underwriting.

Prior to joining HNB Assurance, Wilegoda held key positions at leading insurance companies, including Union Assurance, MBSL Insurance and Janashakthi Insurance. His dedication to professional development and his international exposure has earned him affiliations with esteemed organizations such as the Chartered Insurance Institute – UK and the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance.

Playing an active role within the Insurance fraternity, Wilegoda was the immediate past president of The Association of Chartered Insurance Professionals (ACIP) in Sri Lanka and the present Chair for the Life Insurance Forum, Technical Committee under the Insurance Association of Sri Lanka (IASL).

Leveraging on his industry experience and expertise, as President of the SLII, Wilegoda will lead the institute in its mission to advance the insurance industry’s standards and provide a platform for industry professionals to connect and grow. His appointment signifies a new era of progress and innovation for the SLII.

The SLII, a prominent insurance education institution in Sri Lanka, is known for instilling professionalism in the industry and promoting insurance studies. Through its partnerships with internationally recognized bodies, such as the Chartered Insurance Institute of London and the Insurance Institute of India, the SLII offers a range of certified qualifications at Certificate, Diploma and Advanced Diploma levels.

The new council elected for the year 2023/2024 consists:

Mahendra Wilegoda – President, Sameera Dharmasena – Vice President, Anushka Jayasinghe – Secretary, Kaumalee Amaradiwakara – Assistant Secretary, Saman Kumara – Treasurer, Kusum Thenuwara – Council Member, Lachini Chithrasena – Council Member, Chandima Sumanathunga – Council Member, Pathum Rathnayake – Council Member, Indika Ariyarathne – Council Member and Harith Perera – Council Member.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.