Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Navy SC emerges champs at Women’s Div. one cricket

0 18
Champion Navy SC women’s cricket team
Champion Navy SC women’s cricket team

Navy Sports Club led by Harshitha Samarawickrama emerged champions at the women’s division one cricket tournament conducted by Sri Lanka cricket. Navy SC recorded their last victory of this tournament on Tuesday when they beat Army SC ‘B’ team by ten wickets in their low scoring game to clinch the title. The women sailors put upa a fine team effort to win six matches out of seven matches to get this title.

Navy SC has obtained highest points of 30 with a net run rate of 2.377 to win this title while Air Force SC ‘A’ finished at second to take runner up, also won 6 matches out of 7 matches with 29 points with a net run rate of 2.429.

Navy SC lost only one game during this tournament that was against Air Force SC. Navy SC won by 178 runs against Air Force SC ‘B’ and won by 8 wickets against Seenigama Ladies.

They also won by 10 wickets against Colts CC and won by 4 wickets against Chilaw Marians CC. Navy won by 110 runs against Army SC ‘A’ team and finally they won against Army SC ‘B’ by 10 wickets to win this crown. Former Sri Lankan women’s skipper Shashikala Siriwardena, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Probodani, Inoka Ranaweera all having National experience gave a good effort to win this title.

Meanwhile Air Force SC ‘A’ team led by Oshadi Ranasinghe won against Seenigama Ladies by 27 runs, won against Colts CC by 10 wickets, won against Chiaw Marians CC by 143 runs, won against Navy SC by 12 runs (D/L Method), won against Air Force’B’ by 211 runs and lost only to Army SC by 10 runs to become runner-up.

The champion Navy SC team comprise with Hasini Perera, Prasadini Weerakkody Harshitha Samarawickrama (Captain ), Sathya Sandeepani, Hansima Karunarathna, Nilakshana Sadamini, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodani, Tharika Sewwandi, Shashikala Siriwardena, Umesha Thimeshani.

Final club standings: 1 Navy SC (30 points), 2. Air Force SC ‘A’ (29 points ), 3. Army SC ‘A’ ( 25 points ), 4. Seenigama Ladies (19 points), 5. Chilaw Marians CC (14 points), 6. Army SC ‘B’ (12 points), 7. Air Force ’B’ (4 points ),8. Colts CC (0 points).

Thursday, April 21, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.