Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Navy SC target top four finish in Rugby League

0 79
Navy SC Rugby Squad for 2022/23
Navy SC Rugby Squad for 2022/23

Navy Sports Club, with an experienced outfit, will look for a top four finish at the 2022/23 SLR Nippon Paint Inter-Club League Rugby Tournament, which commenced last week.

The Sailors have already got off to a fantastic start having defeated Police SC 15-7 in the curtain-raiser match of the tournament on their home grounds at Welisara.

This will be a great morale booster for Navy SC, who will take on the CH and FC in their next outing on December 16 at the Race course Grounds in Colombo.

Navy SC will also have the advantage of playing three other first-round games on their home grounds against Havelock SC (December 29), Army SC (January 13) and Air Force SC (January 27).

Navy SC are one of the few teams that have managed to hold onto most of their squad from the last season and will be determined to qualify for the Super Round of the Cup Segment.

They were the Plate Championship winners of the previous season and this time they will be keen to go beyond that under the captaincy of former St. Joseph’s College stalwart Stephan Gregory.

The team will be handled by former Sri Lanka Women’s Sevens Coach Saliya Kumara, who spearheaded Isipathana College to win the League Championship and the Knock-Out Tournament recently.

The key players in the line-up are Samuel Maduwantha, Adeesha Weerathunga, Thilina Weerasinghe, Dinesh de Silva, Radeesha Senevirathne, Gihan Madushanka and Vimukthi Gamage.

Navy SC’s biggest moment last season was when they brought down the CR and FC 18-13 at Welisara after trailing 7-10 at half time and they nearly upset the defending champions Kandy SC before going down fighting 30-35 on their home grounds.

Navy SC Rugby Squad for 2022/23

Prop forwards: Stephan Gregory (Captain), Viraj Kolambaarchchi, Charith Silva, Sudeera Sankalpa, Anushaka Ramesh, Gihan Madushanka, Adeesha Weerathunga, Dimuth Perera, Achala Shivantha, Namal Monaravila, Gayan Anurudha.

Hooker: Rasith Silva, Jayalal Udayashantha.

Second row forwards: Sanjaya Bandara, Sanjeewa Roshan, Bathiya Samaraweera, Sumedha Malawana, Pulashthi Dassanayake, Ramesh de Silva.

Flankers: Nirosh Perera, Saman Bandara, Sanka de Silva, Prasanga Abeyrathne.

Number Eight: Vimukthi Gamage, Radeesha Senevirathne, Shashindu Imash.

Scrum half: Harsha Maduranga, Richie Dharmapala.

Fly half: Dinesh De Silva, Thanuja Maduranga, Gayan Jayarathne, Isuru Kongahawatta,

Centres: Mushin Faleel, Kosala Tissera, Kasun Thilakarathne, Eranga de Silva, Samuel Maduwantha, Ravindu Nissanka.

Wingers: Samith Dananjaya, Rajitha Sansoni, Chathura Gomes, Suneth Chathuranga, Pradeep Ranaweera, Dhananjaya Kumara, Kavishka Gayashan, Hashan Madumadawa.

Full back: Thilina Weerasinghe, Lahiru Herath, Janith Laksara, Nirosh Perera, Harshana Chamal, Dhananjaya Seneviratne.

Coach: Saliya Kumara.

Upcoming fixtures (first-round):

December 16: Navy SC v CH and FC at Racecourse Grounds. December 29: Navy SC v Havelock SC at Welisara. January 8: Navy SC v Kandy SC at Nittawela Stadium.

January 13: Navy SC v Army SC at Welisara. January 22: Navy SC v CR and FC at Longden Place. January 27: Navy SC v Air Force SC at Welisara.

Monday, December 12, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.