Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Nishan Madushka – fastest to score 1000 runs in domestic cricket

0 35
Nishan  Madushka
Nishan Madushka

Wicket keeper batter Nishan Madushka Fernando of Ragama Cricket Club has completed 1000 first-class runs for the season when he scored 45 runs in the second innings of their Major Trophy Cricket tournament match against Kandy Customs Sports Club, which was concluded at Thurstan Grounds,Colombo on Sunday.

Thus he became the fastest batter to do so in Major Trophy Cricket Tournament which is the premier first class tournament in Sri Lanka since 1988-89. (formally P. Saravanamuttu Trophy/ Premier Trophy)

During the 2022/23 season 23 year old Madushka has scored 1025 runs from 6 matches and 9 innings with a 300 n.o against Sebastianites as his highest. He posted 5 hundreds and 3 fifties and have a healthy average of 146.42. In all, he hit 12 sixes and 99 fours during the season.

This former Moratu Vidyalaya cricketer has scored 150 and 100 n.o vs Galle CC, 300 n.o vs Sebastianites, 62 vs Kurunegala Youth C.C, 107 vs BRC, 125 and 81 vs Police SC and 30 and 70 vs Kandy Customs Sports Club this season.

The previous record for the fastest 1000 runs was jointly held by Pathum Nissanka of NCC (7 matches-12 innings in 2018/19) and Marvan Atapattu of SSC (8 matches- 12 innings in 1995/96). Thus Madushka easily lowered this record by making 1025 runs in only 6 matches and 9 innings.

Legendary Kumar Sangakkara also scored 1001 runs in six Tests (11 innings) between January and July 2014.

Madushka is the 22nd batter to went pass 1000 runs in a season in Sri Lanka’s domestic first class Cricket tournament.(24th occasion)

Jehan Mubarak (1165 in 2013/14 and 1043 in 2014/15) and Dinesh Chandimal (1013 in 2010/11 and 1027 in 2019/20) were the only batters done it twice in the history.

Russel Arnold of NCC holds the record for highest run aggregate for a season by posting 1430 runs (14 matches,21 innings) in 1995/96 season. With six matches intact, Madushka has a great chance to overhaul this tally in the coming weekends.

The list of players who have scored 1000 or more runs in a season in Major Cricket League in Sri Lanka.

1995/96 Mavan Atapattu (SSC) 9 matches 14 innings 1223 runs, Russell Arnold (NCC) 14-21-1430, Sanjeewa Silva (Sebastianites) 14-23-1196, Lanka de Silva (Kurunegala Youth CC) 13-24-1166 Chaminda Mendis (Colts CC) 13-20-1043, Dulip Samaraweera (Colts CC) 12-20-1042 Waruna Waragoda (CCC) 13-18-1036

1996/97 Romesh Kaluwitharana (Colts CC) 9-13-1076
1998/99 T.M.Dilshan (Sebastianites) 14-22-1027, Saman Jayantha (Sinha SC) 11-19-1012

2010/11 Dinesh Chandimal (NCC) 9-15-1013
2011/12 Chamara Silva (Bloomfield) 9-15-1143

2012/13 Kaushal Silva (SSC) 10-13-1073
2013/14 Jehan Mubarak (NCC) 10-16-1165

2014/15 Milinda Siriwardene (Badureliya CC) 10-19-1144 Jehan Mubarak (NCC) 10-18-1043
2016/17 Sadeera Samarawickrama (Colts CC) 10-19-1016

2018/19 Oshada Fernando (Chilaw Marians) 9-16-1181 Pathum Nissanka (NCC) 7-13-1088 Priyamal Perera (Colts CC) 10-17-1001, Sachithra Serasinghe (Tamil Union) 10-14-1001

2019/20 Lahiru Udara (NCC) 9-14-1039 Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka Army SC) 8-13-1027
2022 Nishan Madushka (Ragama CC) 6-9-1025*

Compiled by Vijitha Senaratne

Friday, September 30, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.