Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Olcott Sports Foundation clinch Bandula Warnapura trophy

0 14

Here the skipper of Col Henry Steel Olcott Sports Foundation and former Sri Lankan Cricket captain Arjuna Ranatunga receiving the Bandula Warnapura Memorial Trophy from the chief guest the widow of late Bandula Warnapura Mrs. Hemali Warnapura. Others in the picture are  (second from right) Mr. Nalin Wickramasinghe – President MCA, and (third from right) Gamini Swarnapala – President Col. Henry Steel Olcott Sports Foundation. (PIcture by Herbert Perera)

The inaugural Twenty 20 cricket match between Col. Henry Steele Olcott Sports Foundation led by former Sri Lankan Cricket Captain Arjuna Ranatunga and MCA Masters in memory of Sri Lanka’s first Test Captain Bandula Warnapura was played at MCA Grounds On Sunday.

Winning the toss MCA Masters put Olcott Sport’s Foundation into bat and they Scored 149 for 8 in 20 overs. A solid 96 runs, partnership for the second wicket in 72 balls, between opening batsman, Duminda Wickramasinghe 46 in 40 balls, inclusive

two sixes and a four and Sudarshana Guruge 44 in 40 balls inclusive of five fours boosted their total while MCA Masters chasing a total of 150 runs to win was tied down by the Olcott Foundation spinners Lal Ranasinghe 1 for 22, and Ajith Ekanayake 3 for 22 as they were restricted to 127 for 9 in 20 overs and Olcott Sports Foundation won by 22 runs.

Adrian Jaakey from MCA was selected as the Best Bowler 5 for 29 runs while Duminda Wickramasinghe was picked as Best Batsman and Sudarshana Guruge as Man of the Match. both players are from Olcott Sports Foundation.Awards were given away by the chief Guest Bandula Warnapura’s widow Mrs.Hemali Warnapura, his son Madawa Warnapura, Nalin Wickeramasinghe, President MCA and Gamini Swarnapala, President Olcott Sports Foundation.

Chief Scores :

Olcott Sports Foundation – 149/8 in 20 Overs (Duminda Wickramasinghe 46,Sudarshana Guruge 44, Prasanna Dahanayake 22, Adrian Jaakey 5/29)

MCA Masters – 127/9 in 20 Overs (Johann Peiris 17, Chandana Mahesh 29, Nishantha Mendis 30, Ajith Ekanayake 3/22, Sanjeewa Ranatunga 2/32)

Tuesday, February 15, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.