Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Pabasara and Lakshan guide Galle to win over Jaffna

0 10

Opener Pabasara Waduge (92) and Dhananjaya Lakshan (70) produced an unbroken 165 third wicket stand as Galle defeated Jaffna by 8 wickets according to D/L system in their rain hit National Super League cricket fixture played at Pallekele International cricket stadium yesterday.

Jaffna put into bat first made 272 for 5 wickets in 46 overs while rain interrupted the game and Galle had to get reverse target of 197 runs in 25 overs. The opener Pabasara Waduge 28 year old right hander and Dhananjaya Lakshan the 23 year old all-rounder got this challenge to build up their required target more comfortably in 21.3 overs.Two former Richmondites Waduge and Lakshan played superb unbeaten innings which paved their way to victory in 22nd over while Waduge was at unbeaten 92 in 70 balls striking 10 fours and 2 sixes. Lakshan was more aggressive style making brisk 70 just in 44 balls with 11 fours and six with a 159.09 strike rate. Earlier Jaffna skipper Dhananjaya de Silva made his second century of the tournament while making an unbeaten 109 in 106 balls striking 11 fours and 3 sixes. The under 19 skipper Dunith Wellalage also played his first game for Jaffna side making 23 in 35 balls with a boundary and a six.

Meanwhile, at Dambulla International Stadium the match between Kandy and Dambulla was abandoned without a ball being bowled and share 2 points each. Kandy with one match to spare already top points 26 ensured the final berth while Jaffna 18 points and Galle 17 points are fighting to qualify with one match remaining on the cards on February 16. Galle will meet Kandy at Pallekele while Jaffna will meet Colombo at Dambulla on 16th.

Chief scores

* At Pallekele: Galle beat Jaffna by 8 wickets with (D/L method)

Jaffna 272 for 5 wickets in 46 overs (Sadeera Samarawickrama 23, Lahiru Thirimanne 85, Dhananjaya de Silva 109* Dunith Wellalage 23,Akila Dananjaya 2/51)

Galle (target 197 in 25 overs) and 197 for 2 wickets in 21.3 overs (Pabasara Waduge 92*, Dhananjaya Lakshan 70*)

Monday, February 14, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.