Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Penalty for overstaying foreigners to be revised

0 88
Public Security Minister Tiran Alles with the IGP and Police officers.
Public Security Minister Tiran Alles with the IGP and Police officers.

The Ministerial Consultative Committee approved orders made by the Public Security Minister under the Immigrants and Emigrants Act to revise the fine of US$ 500 in addition to the visa fees to foreigners who have overstayed their period of valid visas.

The approval was given at the Ministerial Consultative Committee held recently (25) under the Chairmanship of Public Security Minister Tiran Alles. It has been recommended that no penalty will be levied for departure at an approved port of the Department of Immigration and Emigration within seven days or less than the overstaying period of valid visa without getting period of visa extended, to levy a penalty of US$ 250 for an overstaying period of more than seven days and overstaying period of 14 days or less and to levy a penalty of US$ 500 for overstaying period of more than 14 days.

This step has been taken in accordance with the requests made by various parties regarding the promotion of tourism, attracting investors and due to the inconvenience caused to officials working in foreign missions operating in Sri Lanka due to having to pay the above penalty. These orders are to be approved by the Parliament on a future date.

Apart from this, MPs pointed out that there is a shortage of officers in police stations as police officers are deployed at various places and for the protection of individuals.

Minister Tiran Alles advised the IGP that these tasks have been in operation for a long time, and after conducting a proper security assessment, deploy officers only for essential needs and deploy other officers at police stations.

Members drew the attention of the Committee to the need to take steps to appreciate officers involved in drug-related raids. Accordingly, the Minister gave instructions to take measures to appreciate the relevant officers by getting recommendations related to drug raids from every police zone.

State Minister Shantha Bandara, MPs Dayasiri Jayasekara, Akila Ellawala, Madhura Withanage, Chandima Weerakkody, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Asanka Navaratne, Thisakutti Arachchi, Rajika Wickramasinghe, Isuru Dodangoda, Kumarasiri Rathnayaka, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, Sahan Pradeep Withana, were present at the Committee meeting held.


Wednesday, May 31, 2023 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.