Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Royal-Thomian water polo first leg on Saturday

0 36
Action from the 2019 Royal-Thomian first leg water polo fixture
Action from the 2019 Royal-Thomian first leg water polo fixture

Royal College will look to retain Dr. R. L. Hayman Trophy for the third successive year when they take on traditional rivals S. Thomas’ College in the 29th annual Under-19 water polo encounter at the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex in Colombo on Saturday.

Royal are hoping to complete a unique hat-trick of victories against their rivals after having won the coveted Trophy in 2018 and 2019, the last time the contest was held between the two schools.

Royal, with an experienced outfit will be determined to claim the first leg of this clash before they come back for the second leg of the contest scheduled for October 8 at the same venue.

Meanwhile, S. Thomas’, led by left-winger Dirhean Dias are fielding a fresher-laden side but will be determined to bring an end to Royal’s dominance in the series and regain the Trophy.

In fact, the Thomians still lead in the overall tally between the two schools having won the Trophy on 16 occasions while Royal have triumphed on nine instances with three drawn games.

The teams

Royal (From): Umindu Katugamapala, Yamith Jayakody, Thilanka Thushan, Lakindu Weerasinghe, Senuda Somakeerthi, Randa Ranathunga, Nadil Basnayaka, Banuka Jayathilaka, Damsara Akmeemana, Minusha Mewan, Thisul Fernando, Dimeetri Liyanage, Mihin Wanigasekara, Lisitha Munasinghe, Yasandu de Silva, Anuk Mahalekam, Anuga Handunpathirana, Vinuda Somakeerthi, Rahul de Silva, Talal Bary and Hithesh Jayawardana.

S. Thomas’ (From): Dirhean Dias (Captain), Aaqil Zuhair, Nithish Perera, Chariya Kurukulasuriya, Talib Mansoor, Aidan Tissera, Nehemiah Krishnaswamy, Santhush Kalansooriya, Haritha Sugathadasa, Deshan de Mel, Migara Gurusinghe, Seevali Gurusinghe, Yumal Bollegala, Shreshta Anthonisz and Anuk Wijegunaratne.

Friday, September 30, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.