Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Senior Officials brainstorm for planning, monitoring of National Policies

0 91

The inaugural meeting of the Committee of Senior Officials to establish an independent institution for planning and monitoring national policies was held at the Presidential Secretariat. Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake, Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake and Finance Commission Chairman Sumith Abeysinghe were present. Prime Minister’s Secretary Anura Dissanayake said a National Council was appointed for the planning and monitoring of national policies according to the 21st Amendment of the Constitution, and two sub-committees were established under it. One committee has been appointed under the leadership of MP Namal Rajapaksa and a group of MPs.

Under that, a National Assembly sub-committee has been appointed to identify the priorities for the formulation of medium and long-term national policies and in its first meeting held at the

Parliament on December 01, the “Committee of Senior Officials for the Establishment of an Independent Institution for the Planning and Monitoring of National Policies” was appointed.

This committee was entrusted with the responsibility of formulating a national policy for the next 25 years from 2023, which is the vision of President Ranil Wickremesinghe. Accordingly, the President’s Secretary instructed the committee to send their ideas and suggestions for the formulation of the new national policy to the President’s office before December 20, and explained the importance of taking into account the national policies that have been implemented in the country previously. President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake further stated that the draft of the new national policy will be ready by December 27 and it will be taken up for discussion by the committee

members and the final report will be forwarded to the Attorney General’s Department by January 15 for drafting of laws.

Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government Ministry Secretary M.M.P.K. Mayadunne, Health Ministry Secretary S.J.S. Chandragupta and other committee members joined the discussion.


Saturday, December 17, 2022 – 01:12

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.