Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

lanka ads

Six new meet records setup on day-1

0 9
33rd National Youth Sports Games
W.S. Madushanka in his record breaking attempt during the men’s over 20 shot putt event.

Six new meet records were established by athletes in individual events in the first day of 33rd National Youth Sports Games worked off at Sugathadasa International Stadium yesterday.

W.S. Madushanka of Colombo district created a new meet record in men’s over 20 shot putt event with a distance of 16.43 meters. Madushanka broke the previous record with 14.05 meters created by W.G.T. Sampath of Galle district in 2011.

D.M.I. Hasanthi of Ampara district made a new meet record in women’s under 20 javelin throw event with a distance of 42.35 meters while K. Shanika Lakshani of Gampaha district created a new meet record in under 20 women’s 800 meter event with a timing of 2:11.27 minutes. Another new meet record was established by G.N.D. Bulugahapitiya of Kandy district in men’s under 20, 800 meter race with a timing of 1:54.23 minutes.

P. Rakshana of Batticaloa district and D.M. Nadun Kaveesha Bandara of Gampaha district established meet records in 110 meter hurdles events in both men and women races with a timing of 15.22 and 14.27 minutes respectively.


Men’s over 20 – shot putt: 1. W.S. Madushanka – Colombo district (16.43 m), N.P.L.K. Pathirana – Ratnapura district (13.31 m), 3. M.I.L. Bandara – Kurunegala district (11.95 m).

Men’s over 20 10,000 meter: 1. M.S. Ramesh – Colombo district (33:20.79), 2. A. Kannaneshan – Kandy district (33:20.95), 3. H.A. Tharanga – Matara district (33:58.83).

Men’s over 20 high jump: 1. S. Roshev Dulmin – Puttalam (2.04 m), 2. Pramuka Tharanga – Colombo (1.98 m), 3. V. Dilushan – Batticaloa (1.98 m).

Women’s over 20 5,000 meter: 1. R.M.N. Nidharshani – Moneragala (18:24.70m), 2. G.P.V. Ranasinghe – Kandy (19:14.50m), 3. J. Sandarenu Fernando – Kalutara (19:16.93m).

Women’s under 20 long jump: 1. M.N. Madushani – Moneragala (5.65m), 2. R.R. Sewwandi – Matara (5.46m), 3. C. Rashmika Wickramage – Kandy (5.39m).

Women’s over 20 long jump: 1. M.M. Madushani – Kurunegala (1.55m), 2. Thejani Dinushika – Colombo (1.50m), 3. S.D.K. Mahagedara – Kandy (1.45m).

Tuesday, December 21, 2021 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.