Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Sixteen member Sri Lanka squad for Afghanistan Test

0 1

Sri Lanka test squad comprising 16 players have been picked by the National Selection Committee headed by Upul Tharanga and this squad  is subject to approval by the Sports Minister.

The squad is led by new captain Dhananjaya de Silva while experienced players  Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal the three  former skippers  are also included in the squad .

Both Karunaratne and, Mathews  hit centuries at last NSL game while skipper Dhananjaya de Silva and youngster Kamindu Mendis  who also hit centuries are in good form. Kusal Mendis also hit fine knock of 80 to ensure his place and was named as deputy Skipper. Nishan Madushka and Sadeera Samarawickrama the wicket keeper batsmen have found places while opener Pathum Nissanka couldn’t find a place as he is not in good form. However Lahiru Udara the NCC wicket keeper batsman got a chance in  the squad with his form while two young pacemen Milan Ratnayake and Chamika Gunasekara  are also in the squad. Both Ratnayake and Gunasekara were among the wickets recently.

Pacemen Asitha Fernando,Vishwa Fernando and Kasun Rajitha  retained their places  while two regular spinners Prabath Jayasuriya the leggie and off spinner Ramesh Mendis are in the squad and Lasith Embuldeniya and Akila Dhananjaya couldn’t find a place

All these selections  are based on their recent performance and the squad will commence their National training from today at High Performance Unit at R.Premadasa International cricket stadium and SSC grounds.

The head coach Chris Silverwood,batting coach Thilina Kandambi, Assistant coach Naveed Nawaz and spin bowling coach Piyal Wijetunga, fielding coach Upul Chandana are busy with the National players. Mahela Jayawardena is the coaching Consaltant.

The Afghanistan match will be the first time the two sides are facing each other in the longer format of the game, with Sri Lanka becoming Afghanistan’s sixth opponent in Test cricket. The one and only test match will  commence on February 2 at SSC grounds.

Afghanistan test squad also will arrive tomorrow

Sri Lanka  Probable test cricket  Squad (subject to approval  by the sports Minister): Dhananjaya de Silva (capt), Kusal Mendis (V.capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrema, Nishan Madushka, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Udara, Prabath Jayasuriya, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Ramesh Mendis, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Gunasekara, Milan Ratnayake

The post Sixteen member Sri Lanka squad for Afghanistan Test appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.