Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Sixteen school netball teams vie for Milo Champions Cup

0 23
Milo schools netball tournament in action
Milo schools netball tournament in action

Sixteen leading school Netball teams will compete for the Milo Champions Cup which is scheduled to be held on Sunday (12) at the Buddhadasa Stadium in Battaramulla, Over 300 students are involved in this event which would give them match exposure.

Holy Family Convent Kurunegala, who won the Milo schools Netball titles several times will be a key attraction at this tournament while Kalutara Balika Vidyalaya, Maliyadeva Balika, Musaeus and Visakha are the top teams of this tournament.

According to the Secretary of the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association (SLSNA) Shiromi Kuruppu, the 16 schools of the Netball Arena have been divided into four groups that will battle for the Milo Champions Cup while the teams of the respective groups are named on the performances of the previous Milo tournaments. The Schools Netball Association headed by Nirodha Abeywickrama who is the Principal of Maliyadeva Balika Kurunegala are doing their best to make this event a success with the support of Nestle Lanka The teams will be grouped today based on the points from previous tournaments.

The top 16 schools from the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Tournament held in 2019 will go head-to-head this Sunday (12) to win the coveted ‘MILO Champion Cup’ in the final round. This Championship will help resume school netball, which was on hold for two years due to the outbreak of the pandemic, offering students the opportunity to showcase their netball skills on a national platform.

The event organized by the (SLSNA) under the guidance of the Ministry of Education, this event will be sponsored by ‘Nestlé MILO’ as part of its ambition to develop grassroots sports in the country. As a brand that nourishes children to go further in life, Nestlé has supported the progress of school netball for over 20 years.

The first round of the Championship will be held on a league basis following which will be a knock-out round. Each team consists of 16 students and registrations should be done before the start of the respective game. The organizers have decided to make it a one-day event while the finals of the Championship – MILO Champion Cup, will be held on Sunday, at 3.30 pm. The teams consisting of students aged between 16 and 20 can participate in the Championship; accordingly, those born between 01.01.2006 and 31.12. 2003 are eligible

The Chief Guests for the event will be the Director of Education (Sports and Physical Education) – A.D.M.D. Bandara, Assistant Director of Education (Sports and Education) Upali Amarathunga and representatives from Nestlé Lanka, whilst the event will be graced by a special invitee.

Victoria Lakshmi, the President of the Sri Lankan Netball Association, and schools Netball Association President Nirodha Abeywickrama.

The teams of the Super 16 Schools Netball Tournament: Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya, Dharamasoka College, Ambalangoda, Girls’ High School, Kandy Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo 10, Helena Wijewardana Balika Vidyalaya, Kelaniya, Hillwood College, Kandy, Holy Family Convent Kalutara, Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala, Kalutara Balika Vidyalaya, Kalutara, Ladies College, Colombo 7, Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalaya, Kurunegala, Musaeus College, Colombo 7, Presbyterian Girls’ National College, Dehiwala, Sacred Heart Convent, Galle, Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo 5.


Friday, June 10, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.