Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

SJB MP Chaminda Wijesiri resigns

0 2

Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Chaminda Wijesiri, handed over his letter of resignation as a Member of Parliament to Secretary General Kushani Rohanadeera.

Wijesiri submitted his letter of resignation following the announcement made in Parliament yesterday (9).

The Secretary General will inform the Chairman of the Election Commission that his seat in the Ninth Parliament, is vacant.

Meanwhile, Nayana Priyankara Wasalathilaka, who received the next highest number of votes from the Samagi Jana Balawegaya at the last Parliamentary Election in the Badulla district will be appointed to fill the vacancy with the resignation of MP Chaminda Wijesiri.

He polled 31,307 votes representing the Samagi Jana Balawegaya from the Badulla district in the 2020 Parliamentary election. Parliament Secretary General Kushani Rohanadeera informed the Election Commission yesterday that there is a vacancy in the position of Member of Parliament due to the resignation of MP Wijesiri. She has sent a letter to the Election Commission Chairman informing that former Badulla District MP Chaminda Wijesiri, has handed over his letter of resignation as MP.

The post SJB MP Chaminda Wijesiri resigns appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.