Be the First to Know
Save sri Lanka

Sri Lanka add five more players to their T20 WC Squad

0 75

- Advertisement -


The five new names added to the original squad are Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan and Ramesh Mendis.

Meanwhile, Lahiru Madushanka, who was previously named in the T20WC mix, will not travel with the team as he is recovering from an injury.

The squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka as the team begin their campaign on October 18 against Namibia in Abu Dhabi in Group ‘A’ of the First Round where they have also drawn Ireland and the Netherlands.

Twenty-one-year-old off-spinner Theekshana, who made his T20I debut in the first match against South Africa and dismissed Heinrich Klaasen, has been included.

The youngster was also impressive in his ODI debut earlier this week, picking up a four-wicket haul.

Sri Lanka have also named four reserves who will travel with the squad as injury cover – Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya and Pulina Tharanga. (ICC) 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.