Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Sri Lanka to face Namibia in T20 World Cup opener

0 84

The former champions will next meet Ireland in their second outing of the tournament on October 20 at the same venue.

Sri Lanka will complete their group matches with their third and final game against The Netherlands on October 22 at the Sharjah Stadium.

The top two teams in this group will proceed to the Super 12 stage of the tournament, beginning on October 23.

The tournament of course, will begin with the Round 1 Group ‘B’ encounter between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea on October 17.

Scotland and Bangladesh are the other teams competing in Group B.

The second-round of the tournament – the Super 12 stage – will get underway in Abu Dhabi on October 23 with the Group 1 contest between Australia and South Africa.This will be followed up with an evening clash between England and the West Indies in Dubai. Old rivals England and Australia will lock horns in Dubai on October 30. The group will conclude on November 6 with matches between Australia and the West Indies in Abu Dhabi and England and South Africa in Sharjah.

Group 2 will commence with a heavyweight clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai on October 24. Pakistan then take on New Zealand in Sharjah on October 26, in a tough start for the 2009 champions.

Afghanistan begins their campaign on October 25 at Sharjah, taking on the winners of Group ‘B’ from the first-round.

The group will conclude on November 8, with India taking on the second-placed Round 1 qualifier from Group ‘A’.

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10 and the second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on November 11.

The final clash of the tournament will take place in Dubai on November 14, with Monday acting as the reserve day. (ICC)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.