Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Sri Lanka Water Polo teams leave for Asia Pacific Tournament

0 3

After a seven-year hiatus, Sri Lanka’s men’s and women’s Water Polo teams are geared up to compete in the highly anticipated Panasonic 22nd Asia Pacific Water Polo Tournament, hosted by the Hong Kong China Swimming Association in Hong Kong, scheduled to be played from August 11 to 13.

The men’s team will be led by the experienced Shehan Dassanayake, while the women’s team will be captained by Samaakhya Gajanayake. Assisting the teams will be a talented coaching staff comprising Poorna Kankanige, Keshan Munasinghe, Ajantha Silva, and Dinesh Dayananada, with Shamod Edirisinghe as the Team Manager.

Six teams, including Hong Kong Beach Water Polo, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong ‘A’ and ‘B’, Taiwan, and China, will vie for supremacy in the men’s category. Meanwhile, the women’s category will feature four teams, namely Sri Lanka, Singapore, Hong Kong, and United Women Water Polo.

In the past, Sri Lanka’s men’s team achieved a historic milestone by securing a silver medal in 2016, and the women’s team clinched a bronze medal in the 2009 edition of the tournament.

The Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union, along with generous sponsors such as Air Force Base Training Camp Ratmalana, Aitken Spence Apparel, Hela Apparel Holdings, MAS Linea Aqua, Thalis, Allianz Sri Lanka, Bollegala Family, and Sinhalese Sports Club, have come together to support the national teams in their pursuit of success in the tournament.


Sri Lanka Men’s Water Polo Team: Shehan Dassanayake (Captain), Kanitha Munasinghe (Vice Captain), Krishan Udayanthra, Sumith Kumara, Indunil Karunaratne, Aaqil Zuhair, Isiwaruna de Silva, Nawod Bandara, Yumal Bollegala, Shreshta Anthonisz, Yamith Jayakody, Mishan Kottearachchi, Prasad Dissanayake, Bhanuka Wijesundara, Nehemiah Krishnaswamy, Sahiru Athukorala.

Sri Lanka Women’s Water Polo Team: Samaakhya Gajanayake (Captain), Chrishael Robin (Vice Captain), Treasa Adams, Rohansa Vidyaratne, Aneeka Sumanatilleke, Poojani Wijesinghe, Tharuki Kalansooriya, Selini Senithya, Arani Dorabawila, Jayendri Perera, Krishma Hewavisenti, Chenuri Fernando, Kawshalya Hemamali, Sithaarah Zuhair, Sinali Ratnayake, Selina Silva.

The post Sri Lanka Water Polo teams leave for Asia Pacific Tournament appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.