Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Super League: Dickwella, Udara centuries steer Kandy to win

0 17
Kandy openers Niroshan Dickwella and Lahiru Udara hit centuries to add a 233-run stand. (Pic courtesy SLC)

Kandy openers Niroshan Dickwella scored 135 in 104 balls with 17 fours and 2 sixes while Lahiru Udara hit 106 in 116 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes adding a 233-run stand which guided them to beat Galle by 66 runs in their National Super League fixture played at Pallekele International Stadium, yesterday.

Kandy scored the tournament’s highest team total of 343 for 6 wickets while Galle managed to get 277 all out in 47.1 overs with Ashian Daniel was the most successful off-spinner with 4 for 46.

Dhananjaya guides Jaffna to final

Meanwhile, Skipper Dhananjaya de Silva made a fighting unbeaten knock of 79 as Jaffna beat Colombo by 4 wickets in their match played at Dambulla International Stadium, yesterday. Jaffna finished with 22 points is laying in second place to qualify for the final with Kandy who obtained the highest 30 points are at the top place. The final will be played on the 19th at Pallekele.

Chief scores:

*At Pallekele. (Kandy beat Galle by 66 runs).

Kandy: 343 for 6 wickets in 50 overs (Lahiru Udara 106 , Niroshan Dickwella 135, Kamindu Mendis 58,Chalana de Silva 3/38)

Galle: 277 all out in 47.1 overs (Ashan Randika 27, Pabasara Waduge 42,Vishad Randika 47, Kavishka Anjula 90, Asitha Fernando 2/51, Ashian Daniel 4/46 , Pulina Tharanga 3/35)

*At Dambulla. (Jaffna beat Colombo by 4 wickets).

Colombo: 195 for 8 wickets in 50 overs (Nipun Dhananjaya 24, Nuwanidu Fernando 37, Roshen Silva 64*, Nuwan Pradeep 2/22, Dhananjaya de Silva 2/42)

Jaffna: 198 for 6 wickets in 46.5 overs (Sadeera Samarawickrama 39, Dhananjaya de Silva 79*Santhush Gunathileka 30, Tharindu Ratnayake 2/44)

Thursday, February 17, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.