Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Sylvestrians clinch T.B. Jayah Boxing Title

0 5

St. Sylvester’s College a household name in boxing in the 1950’s, 1960’s and 1970’s stamped their class and bounced back into recognition when they became the champions in the 52nd T.B. Jayah boxing meet after 13 years, their last win in this meet was in 2010, the second place went to Peradeniya Central College and third place to Kaduganawa Maha Vidyalaya.

The met was organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Boxing Association. This meet was held from September 2 to 5 at Azhar College, Akurana boxing ring where St.Sylvester’s College were able to become the champions with three gold medals, The Gold Medal winners were T.M.I.D Tennakoon R. Krishanthan and M. Shaeed, and one silver medal by T.M.R.L. Tennakoon, and one bronze medal winner .R.P. Bandara. The stylish boxer who won the Gold medal T.M.I.D Tennakoon won the best boxer award. A big hand should go to their head coach, Police Officer – Chief Inspector Bandulla Vithanage and T.B.J.G.Bandara for their superb guiding and also MIC S. Sivaneshan for support.

This time top boxers were chosen and 280 were in action from 87 schools.

Wariyapola Sri Sumangala beat Poramadualla Central Wariyapola Sri Sumanagala College Kandy were able to beat Poramadulla Central College by four wicklets. in their inter school under 19 division III match plated at Poramadulla. This was a interesting game and Poramdulla Central College scored 171 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 36 overs and in replay Wariyapola Sri Sumangala scored 175 for 6 wickets in 26 over’s.

Thanks to Kevin Kaushalaya for his superb batting performance he was able to score 68 runs with some superb strokes. Rashmika Wijesinghe bowled well to take 3 for 43.

Poramadulla Central College 171 for 9 in 36 over’s – Rashmika Wijesinhe 38, Awishka Jayawardena 30, Bathiya Koswatha 27, Movidu Dinah1 for 21, Dhiendra Chamod 1for 35, Himasala Sheradya 1 for 37 Wariyapola Sri Sumangala 175 for 6 in 26 over’s –Kevin Kaushalaya 68, Savindu Nisal 31, Dhanuka Dissanayke 23, Rashmika Wijesinghe 3 for 42, T.D. Nayanpriya 1 for 36

The post Sylvestrians clinch T.B. Jayah Boxing Title appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.