Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Tamil Union and Sebs clash for title

0 10
Major Club Emerging 3-day Tournament Final
Sebastianites team. (Pix courtesy SLC)
Sebastianites team. (Pix courtesy SLC)

Tamil Union C&AC will meet Sebastianites CC in the final of the Major Club Emerging three-day cricket tournament which is scheduled to be held from today (22) to 24 at the SSC grounds.

Tamil Union led by all-rounder Ranmith Jayasena defeated Negaombo CC on first innings at the Army grounds while Sebastianites led by all-rounder Tharusha Fernando won on first innings after a close game against Colts CC in the semi-finals to book their places for the final. Sebastianites packed with good all-rounders became the champions of Group ‘A’ after the League round having five victories out of 6 matches are expected to give a good challenge against Tamil Union at this final.

Both sides have good spinners while the ambidextrous spinner Tharindu Fernando has the second-highest wicket haul with 42 from Sebastianites and 20-year-old leg spinner Dilum Sudeera having already taken 40 wickets in 4 matches of Tamil Union have been the match winners for their respective teams.

Tamil Union team

Sebastianites put up a good fight to gain first innings points over more fancied Colts CC in their semi-final game which gave a big boost before the final. Sebs made 142 all out in their first innings and they fought back to restrict Colts CC for 113 runs to gain a first innings victory while key spinner Tharindu Ratnayake 4 for 34 and leg spinners Tharusha Fernando (23wickets) the skipper and paceman Tehan Schaffter (17 wickets took three wickets each to strangle Colts batting line up which paved the way to enter the final in their rain-hit semi-final.

Manelker de Silva the left hand middle order batsman is the most successful batter having 536 runs with a century and 2 half centuries while right hand opener Sandun Fernando already scored 512 runs with a century and 3 half centuries and skipper Tharusha Fernando 402 runs with a century have strengthened their batting line up.

Meanwhile, Tamil Union skipper Ranmith Jayasena the former Peterite skipper couldn’t perform as expected but he is having 205 runs with a century while left hander Supun Kavinda (386 runs), Sithara Hapuhinna (296 runs), Damith Perera (283 runs) and the young Opener Navod Paranavithana (played only one game scoring 99 runs) are their main stroke makers of the side. Santhush Gunatilleka the all rounder who played for National Super League joined with Tamil Union in their last game which strengthen their side. Dilum Sudeera the leg spinner who has taken 40 wickets in just 4 matches and missed a few matches due to National Super League 4-day games once again back to the side gives much hope at this final. The right arm paceman Kavindu Pathiratne, who took 8 for 35 against Negombo CC in the semi-final can also make an early breakthrough at the SSC wicket is also a big advantage for the Tamil Union team.

Sri Lanka Cricket sponsored this tournament successfully to give more exposure for the youngsters and they are offering Rs.500,000 for the champions and Rs.300,000 for the runner-up team. In addition, the Player of the Tournament will receive Rs. 100,000 while the Best Batsman and Best Bowler will receive Rs.75,000 each.

Best batting performances

1. Avishka Perera (Colts CC) 663 runs, 2. Dinuka Dilshan (Moors SC) 645 runs, 3.Manelka de Silva (Sebastianites) 536 runs, 4. Johanne de Silva (NCC) 535 runs, 5.Sadun Fernando (Sebastianites) 512 runs,6.Vinura Dulsara(BRC) 493 runs ,7.Avishaka Tharindu (Ragama CC) 478 runs, 8.Ravindu Rashantha (Ragama CC) 472 runs.


Best bowling performances

1.Kaumal Nanayakkara (Army SC) 50 wickets, 2. Tharindu Ratnayake (Sebastianites) 42 wickets, 3. Dilum Sudeera (Tamil Union (40 wickets), 4. Teeshan Vithushan (Morrs SC) 38 wickets, 5. Movin Subasinghe (Air Force SC) 35 wickets ,6. R. Aravinth (Bloomfield) 34 wickets, 7. Kavika Dilshan (Saracens) 33 wickets, 8. Yugeesha Dilshan (NCC) 33 wickets , 9. Methushan Thilina Kumara (Ace Capital CC) 32wickets, 10. Sudara Dhakshina (Navy SC) 32 wickets


Friday, April 22, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.