Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Tharanga and Iresha Marathon winners

0 5
Men’s marathon winners from left Sasen Malaka, H.H. Tharanga and Nirosh Anjula

H.H. Tharanga from Matara district and H. Iresha from Kalutara district emerged Marathon champions at the 33rd National Youth Sports Festival last Sunday. The Youth and Sports Ministry together with the National Youth Service Center conducted this marathon which started from Galle Face.

Tharanga finished men’s marathon with 2 hours 37 minutes and 29 seconds (2:37.29) while Sasen Malaka of Gampaha district and Nirosh Anjula of Kalutara district were placed second and third with timings of 2:3939 seconds and 2:5208 seconds respectively. The men’s marathon was started from Galle Face and continued on Galle road to finish at Kalutara district Secretariat Office covering 42.97km.

Meanwhile, women’s marathon started from Galle Face and proceeded through Galle Road to finish at Moratuwa new road covering 21.09 km was won by H. Iresha with 1 hour 32;37 seconds while Gayani Buddhika of Gampaha district with 1;34.30 seconds and Hiruni Nilmini of Matara district with 1;38.47 seconds were placed second and third respectively.

The 33rd National Youth Sports Festival is scheduled to be held from December 19 to 22 at Sugathadasa Stadium. (D.R)

Women’s marathon winners from left Gayani Buddhika, H Iresha and Hiruni Nilmini

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.