Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Thomian Masters clinch Ganeshan Trophy with seven run win

0 8

Both teams together before the encounter

Thomian Masters pocketed the Sasi Ganeshan Trophy with a thrilling seven run win against Royal Masters in their 5th annual Masters 30 overs Cricket encounter, played at the Bloomfield ground on July 15 (Saturday).

Thomian Masters openers Vajira Wijegunawardena and Skipper Naresh Adikaram put on 99 runs and Royal Masters Skipper Dharsha Abewardena introducing their experienced all rounder Nalliah Devarajan, broke the partnership by dismissing Skipper Naresh Adikaram, who was out for 27 runs.

Chaminda Silva joining Vajira Wijegunawardena got the score board ticking and Sajith Liyanage coming into the attack got the prize wicket of Wijegunawardena, where he was playing a marvellous innings scoring a quick fire innings 112 runs in 70 balls 10 fours and 8 sixes and useful contributions from Chaminda Silva, Arjuna Waidyasekera and Ravi Kumarasinghe got them to a commanding position with Gihan Shiromal , being the main wrecker claiming 4 vital wickets.

Royal Masters chasing the the Thomian Masters total, lost an early wicket at 4 runs on board and Chintaka Edirimanne joining the other opening batter Nuwan Perera, the pair put up a 54 runs partnership for the second wicket and the dismissals of Chintaka Edirimanne scoring a gallant 31 runs in 29 balls including 5 fours and a six and Nuwan Perera scoring a well compiled 34 runs in 35 balls including 4 fours and a six they were at one stage reeling st 4 wickets down for 86 runs.

Nalliah Devarajan coming in the middle order played a supporting role scoring 14 before he was dismissed, Lasantha Perera and skipper Dharsha Abeywardena, were associated in a fine 73 runs partnership for the 6th wicket with Dharsha stroking a glorious 41 runs in 25 balls including 4 fours and 2 sixes and Lasantha playing a magnificent innings scoring 52 runs in 43 balls including 5 fours and with the dismissal of these two batsmen needing 15 runs in the last over, Royal Masters were able to get only 8 runs.

Former Sri-Lanka and Thomian Captain Anura Tennakoon was the Chief Guest

Thomian Masters – 215 all out in 29.2 overs Naresh Adikaram 27, Vajira Wijegunawardena 112, Chaminda Silva 20, Arjuna Waidyasekera 15, Ravi Kumarasinghe 13 not out, Gihan Shiromal 4/31, Shezard Nizar 2/09, Nalliah Devarajan 2/36.

Royal Masters – 208/7 in 30 overs Nuwan Perera 34, Chintaka Edirimanne 31, Amal Karunaratne 13, Nalliah Devarajan 14, Dharsha Abeywardena 41, Lasantha Perera 52, Arjuna Waidyasekera 2/38, Ravi Kumarasinghe 2/29.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.