Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Top chess players set to contest for National C’ship

0 29
Susal de Silva -Sachini Ranasinghe-Ranindu Liyanage
Susal de Silva -Sachini Ranasinghe-Ranindu Liyanage

Sri Lanka National Chess Championships (Open & women’s) conducted by Chess Federation of Sri Lanka (CFSL) will be held from two stages from April 23 to 25 and April 28 to May 1 at the Kobbekaduwa Agrarian Research Institute, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 07.

According to the President of CFSL Luxman Wijesuriya 13 rounds are in this tournament which will be played on round robin basis. In addition this tournament is also considered as the selection events for the Sri Lanka National Men & Women Teams for the FIDE Chess Olympiad 2022 and top five players will be eligible to take part in this event.

There will be another chance this time the players who will perform this event can take part the Asian Games but the inclusion of the chess team has not been confirmed by the Olympic Committee.

The National Chess Champion, Susal De Silva and the Sri Lanka ranked number one player Ranindu Liyanage will play as direct entries in the Open event.

Unfortunately, the Women’s National Chess Champion, Tharushi Niklesha and Harshana Thilakarathne have withdrawn from the tourney due to personal reasons.

However Sachini Ranasinghe the four time National women’s champion who is also the first player to get Womens International Master (WIM) title will contest this time while promising players Sanudula Dehamdi, Oneli Withanawasam also will compete for the women’s title.

The top twelve players of the Sri Lanka National Chess Championship (Premier Division) and the top 14 players of the Sri Lanka Women’s National Chess Championship Premier Division are eligible to play in this Sri Lanka National Chess championship.

Meanwhile CFASL has decided to increase the prize fund from 50% considering the CFSL Golden Jubilee this year where the total prize money will be Rs. 498,000/= The men’s champion will receive Rs. 1,50, 000 cash award while the women’s champion will receive Rs. 1,00, 000.

The 1st runners up (men’s) and women’s will receive Rs.75, 000 and Rs.50, 000 respectively. In addition 3 to 5 places will receive cash awards. Following players are eligible to take part this tournament.

For the open event – Susal De Silva, Ranindu Liyanage, S.D.B.K Senevirathne, Isuru Alahakoon, Nabil Nazar, Brijeash Saravanabhavan, Thumula Kiriella, LisaraTennakoon, Buddhika Amarasinghe, Dhanushka Yatigammana, Achintha Kaluarachchi, Chandana Wijekoon, Sithija Lahiru and ElathMathanga.

Women’s event – Minethma Wickramasinghe, Wishwara Mapa, Sanudula Dahamdi, Nemindi Ramanayake, Tiyumi Yashora, Pasindi Wijesuriya, Yasasi Abeysekara, Desandi Gamage, Oneli Withanawasam, W.M.M.N.Wijesinghe, Chamodya Yapabandara, Esha Pallie, Sachini Ranasinghe and Janandani Abeysinghe.

Thursday, April 21, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.