Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

Training for table tennis players

0 116

The training is funded by the Asian Table Tennis Union(ATTU) under the programme

“AIM FOR THE STARS”. The TTASL hopes to continue these sessions for a period of five months from the grant allotted by the ATTU.

The Secretary of the TTASL Reza Latiff said Training was to commence in last April , a week after the Sinhala and Tamil New year but was kept on hold due to increased COVID cases reported in the country. Due to the lockdown in May, the programme was postponed indefinitely to commence once it would be safe to conduct sports activities again, as per the guidance of the Ministry of Health.

A total of 70 players will benefit from these 4 training camps. 16 players (9 Girls, 7 Boys) will train in Colombo, 14 players (5 Girls, 9 Boys) in Kandy and 20 players (11 Girls, 9 Boys) in Ambalangoda. These players are selected from the latest ranking list of 2021.

Details of 20 players (10 Girls, 10 boys) from Jaffna are to be provided by the Provincial Association.

The unfortunate delays were unavoidable and only glad that the programme can commence in the selected venues within the four provinces mentioned. The programme has received its blessings from the TTASL Executive Committee headed by Kanaka Herath, the president of the TTASL. The training will be handled by ITTF qualified coaches of Level 3 and above.

This is an initiative of the Coaching and Development Committee of the TTASL headed by Ms. Namal Gunasekera.(D.R)

Names of the players are as follows;


Girls: Jithara Warnakulasuriya (Ladies College), Ayala Chitty (Ladies College), Chamathsara Fernando (Uni/Moratuwa), Oneli Lehansa (Musaeus College), Tharindi Perera (V Devi/Kiri’goda), Minna Hasim (Ladies College), Shenali Mendis (Musaeus College), Sandinthi Jayasinghe (Musaeus College), Shamalsha Dewmi (Holly Cross/G).

Boys: Nimesh Ranchagoda (Royal College), Thisas Ranchagoda (Royal College), Vinuka Gunawardena (Royal College), Janith Batugedara (Royal College) Dewmeth Weerasena (Lyceum International), Kakeru Hennayaka (Ananda College), Thisum Gamage (Ananda College)


Girls: Thanushi Rodrigo (Mahamaya BV), Kavindi Sahabandu (Fontera Brands), Chameesha Thushadi (Kegalu B), Navindi Senevirathna (Kegalu B), Sadunya Eshmini (Kegalu B)

Boys: B N B Jayasinghe (MAS), Prasad De Silva (RDA), Chandupa Alahakoon (Kingswood College), Dhanushka Wijesinghe (Kingswood College), Yasiru Meleesha (Vidyartha College), Hasitha Udara (Kingswood College), Matheesha Wickramanayaka (Dharmaraja College), Akeshe Dimantha (Vidyartha College), Saifulla Akram (Hill Country In)


Girls: Erandhi Warusavithana (Raigam PL), Kavishka Kavindi (Dharmasoka College), Sanduni Prabuddhika (Dharmasoka College), Maneesha Shalindi (Dharmasoka College), Nadithi Rehansa (Prajapathi BMV), Heshi Nirmi (Prajapathi BMV), D H Kolambage (Dharmasoka College), Minduli Dihansa (Dharmasoka College), Lesanya Sethumdee (Dharmasoka College), Divya Darani (Dharmasoka College), Tamadhi Kavindya (Devananda College)

Boys: Supuna Warusavithana (Uni Moratuwa), Imantha Udanjaya (Army), Chanul Dulsen (Dharmasoka College), Hiruna Warusawithana (Ananda College), Vihandu Randina (Dharmasoka College), Gesandu Peiris (Dharmasoka College), Hasira Dinusara (Dharmasoka College), Senash Parinda (Dharmasoka College), Hareen Nimdinu (Dharmasoka College).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.