Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

lanka ads

Twelve Sri Lankan athletes compete in South Asian Cross Country Championship today

0 40
Sri Lankan athletic team on their arrival at Dimapur airport on Thursday.

Twelve Sri Lankan athletes team is expected to compete at the South Asian Cross Country Championship which will be held in Indira Gandhi stadium in Kohima today. As many as 28 teams, comprising 671 athletes and officials, from South Asian countries that include Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Maldives and Nepal and different states and Union territories of India arrived in Nagaland for the mega South Asian Cross Country championship and 56th National Cross Country Championship.

Different race categories for Under-16 to the senior category will be conducted, and the races will range from 2-10 KM, as per the guidelines of World Athletics. This is going to be good exposure for the Sri Lankan athletes, especially long distance athletes who are keen to take part in this type of events said Sri Lanka athletics Vice President G.L.S Perera . Kumar Shanmugeswaran, R.M.S. Pushpakumara, Sagara Wijewickrama will compete for mens event while Nimesha Nidarshani, Sujani Perera, Chamini Herath will take part for the women’s event . In addition Angelo Benedict, Charith Madhubhashana, Jaliya Sangeeth are expected to take part for the Junior Men event and Oshadi Fonseka, Hashini Lakshani, W.M. Kasuni are the three competitors for junior women event .

The event is set to take off from the Indira Gandhi stadium in Kohima, where athletes will run on the streets around the stadium. The championship was initially scheduled on last January 15th , but was delayed due to the spread of COVID-19–Omicron variant.Nagaland is

looking to welcome the sportspersons. We are prepared and set to host the championships in a grand manner. All arrangements are well into the final stages, the Indian organizers informed.

Sri Lanka Team for the South Asian Cross Country Championship

Men: Kumar Shanmugeswaran, R.M.S. Pushpakumara , Sagara Wijewickrama Women: Nimesha Nidarshani , Sujani Perera, Chamini Herath Junior Men: Angelo Benedict, Charith Madhubhashana, Jaliya Sangeeth Junior Women: Oshadi Fonseka, Hashini Lakshani, W.M. Kasuni

Officials: H.A. Upali (Manager) Madura Perera (Head Coach ), Buddhika Nuwan (Coach ), Achintha Nirmani (Lady Chaperone)

Saturday, March 26, 2022 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.