Be the First to Know

lanka matrimony

World Cup Cricket begins today with England-NZ game

0 1

The 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will see the winners of the 10-team tournament earn US$4 million, along with the trophy that they will lift at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19. The first match of this World Cup between England and New Zealand will be held today in Ahmedabad at Narendra Modi Stadium and this game will see the last World Cup finalists New Zealand and England once again on Indian soil.

This edition runners-up will receive US$2 million, while the losing semi-finalists will get $800,000 each from the total prize pot of US$10 million. The 48-match event will be played across 10 venues from October 5.

The biggest Cricket World Cup ever will see prizes for each league match won. Teams will play each other once in a round-robin format, with the top four making it to the semi-finals.

The winners of each match in the group stage will receive US$40,000 and the six teams that do not qualify for the semi-finals will receive a payment of US$100,000.

Meanwhile, English all-rounder Ben Stokes could miss the first World Cup match today. England skipper Jos Buttler said Stokes got a slight niggle with a hip and he is working hard with a physiotherapist. We will make the right call today. If he is not fit to play he will sit out the opening match but we’re waiting for the final decision on that, he said.

New Zealand and England teams are packed with more all-rounders while experienced Kane Williamson is a plus point for Kiwis. Especially at the warm-up game against Pakistan the top order batsmen have shown their ability to chase 345 runs and all batters have good confidence before this key game today. England having Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Moreen Ali the key spinner Adel Rashid, Joe Root are expected to repeat their performance while New Zealand the bowlers like paceman Trent Boult, Tim Southee and spinners Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi can pose a big challenge for Kiwis.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka umpire Kumar Dharmasena will officiate as on-field umpire today at this opening game with Indian Nitij Menon and a keen tussle is to be expected.

Sri Lanka ready for South Africa match on Oct.7

The Sri Lankan team led by Dasun Shanaka will be ready for the first game against South Africa on October 7 in Delhi while they already lost their warm-up games against Bangladesh and Afghanistan both played at Guwahati. The result of the warm-up games is not an issue and the main thing is players’ adjustment to the condition said a Sri Lankan team Management member. The injury issue of Kusal Janith Perera is closely monitored by doctors while skipper Dasun Shanaka did not play the last warm-up game against Afghanistan due to a slight injury and both players are expected to come back. The mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana was supposed to reach Delhi yesterday but his availability for the first game is not confirmed yet. Mahela Jayawardena the Consultant coach of the Sri Lanka cricket team also scheduled to join the team yesterday as he is always a good strength to the Sri Lanka team.

Sachin Tendulkar named WC Global Ambassador

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announces India legend and Bharat Ratna Sachin Tendulkar as the Global Ambassador for the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with just two days to go until the pinnacle event of the one-day game gets underway. The Master Blaster, who has an enviable record of featuring in six 50 over World Cups in his decorated career, will walk out with the Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy before the opening match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, declaring the tournament open.

The Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar said From being a ball boy in 1987 to representing the country in six editions, World Cups have always held a special place in my heart. Winning the World Cup in 2011 was the proudest moment of my cricketing journey.

“With so many special teams and players set to compete hard in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 here in India, I am excitedly looking forward to this fantastic tournament.

“Events like the World Cup seed dreams in young minds, I hope this edition too inspires young girls and boys to pick up sports and represent their countries at the highest level.”

The biggest Cricket World Cup ever will also witness an eclectic cast of ICC ambassadors – West Indies legend Vivian Richards, South Africa’s AB de Villiers, England World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan, Australia’s Aaron Finch, Sri Lanka spin great Muttiah Muralitheran, New Zealand’s Ross Taylor, India’s Suresh Raina and ex-captain Mithali Raj and Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez.

World Cup Cricket history

Going back to the ICC Cricket World Cup history the first edition of this World Cup was started in England in 1975 while Australia is the most successful having five World Cup titles and the most runs scored by Indian Sachin Tendulkar who scored 2278 runs in this series while Australian paceman has taken highest wickets of 71 in their World Cup series.

West Indies won the inaugural World Cup in 1975 and the second one in 1979 while India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011. The most successful Australia won the World Cup in 1987 1999, 2003,2007,2015. Pakistan won the Cup in 1992, while Sri Lanka won the World Cup in 1996 under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga. England team last time won the World Cup in 2019.

The post World Cup Cricket begins today with England-NZ game appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.