Be the First to Know

lanka ads

lanka matrimony

Sri Lanka U19s set for Asia Cup and World Cup

0 12
SL U19 Captain, Dunith Wellalage

The Sri Lanka U19 Squad is all set to contest in the upcoming U19 Asia Cup, which is scheduled to be held from December 23 to 31 in UAE. The Asia Cup is very important for all participating teams as it is going to be held before the Youth World Cup scheduled to be held next January in the West Indies.

Sri Lanka defeated defending U19 World Cup champions Bangladesh and England in home tours in the last couple of months and have built up confidence before these major tournaments. The local team is led by all-rounder Dunith Wellalage and has the services of senior players Chamindu Wickramasinghe, Matheesha Pathirana, Raveen de Silva, and Yasiru Rodigo—all who have previous World Cup experience. Sri Lanka still has not released the official squad for the Asia Cup, but the squad selected for the Asia Cup will be the same that will be sent for the World Cup. The 18-member squad will be lead by Dunith Wellalage, while Raveen de Silva is tipped to be his deputy skipper.

The eight teams divided into two groups will compete for the Asia Cup. India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and UAE are in Group A, while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Kuwait are in Group B. The Group A team all matches will be played in Duba,i while all Group B matches are scheduled to be played at the Sharjah Stadium.

Sri Lanka will meet their first game against Kuwait on December 24, followed by Nepal on 26th and Bangladesh on 28th. The semi-finals will be held on December 30th, while the final will be played on December 31st in Dubai.

The most likely 18-member Sri Lanka U-19 Squad: (this squad subjected to approval) Dunith Wellalage (capt – St. Joseph’s, Colombo), Raveen De Silva (Nalanda, Colombo), Sadeesha Jayawardena (St. Joseph’s, Colombo), Pawan Pathiraja (Trinity), Chamindu Wickramasinghe (St. Anthony’s, Katugasthota), Vinuja Ranpul (Nalanda, Colombo), Sadisha Rajapaksa (Royal College, Colombo), Shevon Daniel (St. Joseph’s, Colombo), Malsha Tharupathi (Madampe MMV, Madampe), Wanuja Sahan (St. Peter’s, Colombo), Treveen Mathews (St. Anthony’s, Katugasthota), Yasiru Rodrigo (S. Thomas’, Mount Lavinia), Matheesha Pathirana (Trinity, Kandy), Lahiru Abeysinghe (St. Anthony’s, Katugasthota), Abhishek Liyanarachchi (D.S. Senanayake Colombo), Ranuda Somaratne (Trinity), Anjala Bandara (St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota) Sakuna Liyanage (Lumbini College) Avishka Gunaweardena (Head coach), Chamila Gamage (Fast bowling coach) Upul Chandana (Fielding coach), and Sachith Pathirana (Spin bowling coach).

Thursday, December 16, 2021 – 01:00

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.